Speaker Upgrade (from antique Logitech 5.1)

Associate
Hi All,

My old logitech 5.1 system is starting to fail, I think i've had it 10+ years now so it's a fairly good run!
I'd like to replace with a set of active monitors but don't really know where to begin, whilst I appreciate the bass supplied by a separate sub, i'm not overly fussed I think. My current reference for good sound is some sennheiser HD599 driven via a Behringer audio interface, so i'm not really much of an audiophile!
I currently only have onboard sound, could look at a separate card if required also!
I don't really want to spend loads, say under £200, which I know is fairly limiting, but as above, i'm not an audio pro. I'd like them to sit on the desk so don't want anything too big.

What sort of options do i have, some form of Edifier speaker?
Thanks!

Associate
iloud micro monitors.

They're over budget (£280ish) but if you want compact with no sub I can't think of anything better for that sort of price.

Associate
I would recommend the Edifier S350 that I got new, from somewhere else, £10 cheaper + 20% discount for new customer (£190odd quid) free delivery, but you already discarded the 2.1 system.
There's another options from Edifier, 2.0, like R2750DB, plenty of power, and should give good bass even without a dedicated sub box.
A cheaper option could be Edifier R1700BT.
To be fair, I'm over the moon with my S350.
Can't believe how much was lost using a soundbar.

Soldato
OP what type or media consumption you mainly use the speakers for?

Monitor speakers would be great for listening to music generally speaking, but for gaming and action movies without a sub the lacking of the atmospheric boom in the lower frequency range would be quite apparent.

2.1 setup won't sound as good as monitor speakers for music, but they are better rounded for varies type of usage.

Associate
OP
Thanks for suggestions all.

As for what they'd be playing:
- streams/youtube content/TV series