1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spec me a CCTV System

Discussion in 'Home and Garden' started by Sirrel Squirrel, Dec 28, 2013.

  1. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 14,263

    Location: NN4

    Can you access the Web UI?
     
  2. Bigpops

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,127

    Location: Sheffield, UK

    If you're the super user, go to the control panel tab and to "device management". In there, click your DVR, and choose modify at the top. Re-enter the admin account details (admin / password) and click the modify button at the bottom.

    If that doesn't fix it, then you can try to use the web UI as suggested above, but it's a little more clunky than doing it in ivms.
     
  3. mattyg

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 17, 2007

    Posts: 7,378

    yes

    I'm in via webui

    ..

    Jeez what a ballache
     
  4. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 14,263

    Location: NN4

    It can be indeed, the amount of times I've dealt with the off-load and handling with the police is remarkable.

    I assume all downloaded?
     
  5. Thebug

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 17, 2007

    Posts: 1,849

    Location: Walsall

    Has anyone got any recommendations for ip cameras? Preferably turret style ones, i currently have some hikvision ds 2cd2332 3mp ones with a hikvision nvr and looking to upgrade just the cameras to something with higher resolution and better low light performance.
     
  6. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,182

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Dahua 2MP starlights. They’re about £50 each on AliExpress and team them with the Synology NVR-216 or NVR-218 for a very easy setup or with a Dahua NVR for perfectly smooth operation and PoE.

    Why do you need high resolution? It’s better to have a good sensor and the right lens (or even a zoom) than a high res camera with a poor quality sensor.
     
  7. Thebug

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 17, 2007

    Posts: 1,849

    Location: Walsall

    Just had a quick search for them but cant see them on there, would rather keep my hikvision nvr if possible, and not bothered about the high resolution if the image quality is good
     
  8. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 14,263

    Location: NN4

    Both are ONVIF compliant so your Hik NVR will work fine :) It is probably worth noting you won't get any smart features
     
  9. Thebug

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 17, 2007

    Posts: 1,849

    Location: Walsall

    I dont use ant of the smart features anyway im just after better quality day and night images
     
  10. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,182

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

  11. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 14,263

    Location: NN4

    Domes are already here, believe I posted a photo in this thread of one :)

    There is no IR on these, therefore the benefit of Turrets isn't really needed and spiders aren't all that interested due to no IR.

    I've actually got one of these on the shelf that I keep meaning to install at home, cracking cameras, the above image is out of the box, no config applied.
     
  12. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,182

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Ooh! Which distributor? The two I use don’t have anything at the moment.
     
  13. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 14,263

    Location: NN4

    Couldn't comment as I purchase through trade only distributor, if you're an installer I'd be happy to put you in touch.
     
  14. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,182

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Yes, I’m trade. I use Oprema and Security Dynamics and neither have stock of those domes.
     
  15. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 14,263

    Location: NN4

    That's weird, Oprema is our primary reseller. Surprised they don't have any stock at the moment if I'm honest when I'm back at my desk tomorrow I'll dig out a part code if it'll help?

    How do you find security dynamics? They cold call our offices a lot but they look a little urrr small. Maybe Oprema and their kit has me dazzled.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2019
  16. ristac

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 18, 2011

    Posts: 560

    Location: Northampton

    Just noticed you are NN4 are you an installer of cctv for domestic homes? I’m NN2 so I might give you a call for a quote when I’m ready if you do...
     
  17. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,182

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Everyone has the parts codes listed but no-one actually has any physical stock. I spoke to them at the security fair in Manchester about 3 weeks ago and they reckoned September-ish. I’m happy to wait.

    There is a difference between what I would recommend on here and what I have to supply to my customers to get support, keep my certifications etc.

    As for SD, they were the first people to let me buy UK stock and sorted out a lot of training for me. They push HDCVI a lot because that’s where a lot of their background is, plus Dahua want to keep HDCVI alive but generally I find them fine to deal with. I’d rather just deal directly with Dahua to be honest.
     
  18. Hyburnate

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 14,263

    Location: NN4

    Being careful not to promote business, we don't specialist in domestic installers and are pretty much only a commercial company.

    That's nuts, they must have hugely underestimated stock, thankfully we've not needed any and have a couple in-stock.

    Yeah Dahua are great. If you haven't already get yourself to Maidenhead HQ, great to see all the kit in action and their HDCVI stuff is still scarily good.

    I've never had them push us on what we can sell etc, then again we've decided not to go down the partner route yet as it's an LNS for us, not a core business.

    I don't massively like SD, but we've had a long standing relationship with my local Oprema BDM, and they do our Paxton requirements too.
     
  19. oggiet

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 10, 2009

    Posts: 654

    Total noob here :)

    This is my first time buying CCTV camera setup so looking for advise from those in the know please.

    We live in a mid terrace house and would like to have two camera setup, one for front door which needs a range of about 5 meters and one for back of the house to the bottom of the garden is about 15 meters. Back of the house facing the garden is about 6 meters wide and has patio and kitchen back door, my plan is to put one camera in between the two (which I guess will need wide lens). Front of the house has good lighting as there is lamp post about 6 meters from the door, back of the house has no lighting.

    I would like some advise and recommendations please which cameras I should be looking to buy, also would like to add that I'm looking to hook these up to my Synology NAS.

    Thanks for all your help
     
  20. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,182

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    As far as I'm aware, all Synology NAS devices come with two Surveillance Station licences so that takes care of the NAS/NVR aspect of the problem if you're only having two cameras.

    For cameras, you want something that fits in with your house finish and how you want to position them.

    Field of View is a good starting point - 90 degrees obviously gives you a 50% view of the front of your property and the idea is to get the angle so you can see the face of anyone approaching. I'm a Dahua fan and my go-to option is always a 2MP Starlight as these don't need illumination from an IR source to function. If you are getting IR make sure you get a decent range, some of them are only rated for 10m while 20-30m gives you really strong foreground illumination. The main issue with IR is reflections on number plates which tends to make unreadable at night. There is a link in post 2150 for a decent camera that won't break the bank and is compatible with Synology Surveillance Station. In your scenario I would go with the 2.8mm lens at the rear and the 3.6mm lens at the front. I would also buy the Dahua mounting bracket that holds the camera horizontal, gives a good stable platform and a bit of space to loop away any excess cable.

    I actually did an install at a property like yours using the Dahua IPD-HDBW4231F-E2 'Dolly Parton' camera. I ordered one camera with the 2.8mm lenses and one with the 3.6mm lenses and then I swapped one of each on each camera. One camera 'set' at the front of the house with the 2.8mm camera covering the whole front of the house and teh 3.6mm doing just the front door and gate. I did the same thing at the rear with the 2.8mm rotated to do the whole length of the garden and teh shed at the bottom and teh 3.6mm covering the garden gate. It worked really well with a Synology NVR-218 which has 4 Surveillance Station licences as standard. To do it on your system you'd need 2 more licences which are as expensive as a basic camera (about £50 each).

    https://ipcamtalk.com/threads/review-dahua-ipc-hdbw4231f-e2-m-dual-starlight-cam.28860/

    Hikvision also make excellent cameras and I'm sure you'd also be very happy with something from their range. I just don't have experience to suggest anything.

    Mounting is always interesting and there is a huge amount of personal preference. Some people like bullet cameras but I find they are very prone to birds perching on them and also spiders love the warmth and the light, so they get busy straight away with the web building. Turret cameras are very popular because they avoid the birds issue but they still suffer a little bit from spiders. Dome cameras are completely immune to birds and spiders but if they are mounted badly they can suffer from raindrops and if you don't leave the little bag of silica in there they can also get foggy inside if they are poorly sealed when you refit the cover.