1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSD advice please

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by koolpc, Sep 30, 2018.

  1. koolpc

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 2, 2004

    Posts: 10,537

    Location: Under The Desk, Wales

  2. Resistance

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2014

    Posts: 267

    Location: Earth and soon Heaven

    The samsung 970 pro or evo is better pro being the better of them all but up to how much you want to spend
     
  3. koolpc

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 2, 2004

    Posts: 10,537

    Location: Under The Desk, Wales

    Any links would be great. So, would the standard SSD be better or the one that fits on the mobo?
     
  4. Resistance

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2014

    Posts: 267

    Location: Earth and soon Heaven

    What size do you need and is it being used for the operating system
     
  5. koolpc

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 2, 2004

    Posts: 10,537

    Location: Under The Desk, Wales

    250gb and yes for OS and programs etc.
     
  6. Resistance

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2014

    Posts: 267

    Location: Earth and soon Heaven

  7. koolpc

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 2, 2004

    Posts: 10,537

    Location: Under The Desk, Wales

    OS is not that much though?

    My daughter has a 250gb SSD drive with OS on it, several programs and a couple of games.

    Also, are these newer drives much faster than the 2.5 SSD drives? Ta
     
  8. Resistance

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2014

    Posts: 267

    Location: Earth and soon Heaven

    I posted a few links you decide what one you want and yes way faster the 2.5 SSD drives also 2.5 SSD do slow down the more info on it
     
  9. koolpc

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 2, 2004

    Posts: 10,537

    Location: Under The Desk, Wales

    Ok, thanks appreciate your time.

    Is setting up the OS the same as on the 2.5 SSD's?
     
  10. Resistance

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2014

    Posts: 267

    Location: Earth and soon Heaven

    when you set up the os on what drive you buy from the links above have just that one installed on your motherboard and in the bios you can pick the first boot is the disk or you can just hit the f11 key
     
  11. koolpc

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 2, 2004

    Posts: 10,537

    Location: Under The Desk, Wales

    Ok, cheers.
    Now to choose a mobo, cpu and ram (see my other thread) lol