Strange graphics error

Associate
Joined
12 Aug 2005
Posts
1,025
Location
Team 10
Well it first started when my sister tried to play the sims 2: university.

She was getting all these funny lines around the screen and textures going all wrong. So I just tol her to restart.....same error. Installed latest ATi drivers.....still the same.

Then she tried Google earth as Sims wasn't working. That had the same error too!

Piccy here

Although, the strange thing i noticed, when I was remote desktopping (i can't be bothered to walk the 3 metre's to the pc), i started up google earth yet didn't get any errors.

Checked the display properties and it said "default monitor on" without displaying the GFX card (Tis a radeon 9000).

Reformatted the pc tonight. SAME ERROR?! The same thing also happens when I RDC.

I'm thinking it CAN'T be the GFX card coz the screen looks perfectly fine normally with no errors doing anything else. I can't imagine what other component of the PC it could be either.

Any ideas?
 
Associate
Joined
15 Mar 2006
Posts
2,097
Looks like aliens are going to destroy us all!!

...

Does it run fine with all other games? And is it a laptop we're talking about here?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Aug 2005
Posts
1,025
Location
Team 10
MeatLoaf said:
It looks like a problem with the gfx card. Download 3dmark 05 or 06 and see if you get problems in that also.

Well I thought it was a problem with the GFX card as well. If it was, when I RDC, shouldn't the same problems occurr when i start google earth?

Anyway, installed aquamark as its small and quick to install.

Come up with this......

Piccy [600K]


As I expected, the same error.
 
Soldato
Joined
4 Sep 2005
Posts
12,785
Location
London
Its tearing or artifacting i think, and it could be heat related. But tbh, if its a 9000, i wouldnt think it gets that toasty anyway? I dont think they have temp sensors anyway.. so theres no chance of getting a reading if its overheating :(

Most probably on its way out if its only suddenly happened. They are quite old cards anyway?
 
Associate
Joined
27 Nov 2005
Posts
45
ive had the same issues if i overclock my gfx card to far, i solved mine by setting clocks back to default speeds and this solved the lines and blur, kinda anoying playing bf2 with lines like that all over the place lol

its a 9800 pro which gives me the issues, and as for heat sensors, i use the tried and tested touch it and see method :p
 
Soldato
Joined
1 May 2006
Posts
2,583
Location
UK
yeh i have the 9600 pro saphire and can oveclock it to 480 core and 300 memory but the heat gets at it after a while...mite try fitting a vantec vga cooler.....anyone no if they r ne good? sry if im hijackin here
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Aug 2005
Posts
1,025
Location
Team 10
Well I really wouldn't think it was over-heating. After running the Sims with the funny errors, i touched the heatsink on it.

Cold as anything. It even has a PCI fan blower next to it to help it!

It may be on its way out and dying but TBH if it was, wouldn't I see the same error when i start GE while RDCing?
 
Soldato
Joined
7 Oct 2004
Posts
3,151
Location
Manchester
Looks like you've got a knackered core or memory from what i can tell, you'd have been better off posting this in the graphics card section of the forum, would have got more replies.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Aug 2005
Posts
1,025
Location
Team 10
Well thats what I first thought!!!

I dismissed it when I RDC'd and the error wasn't there. I thought it was the card but changed my mind as when i RDC its fine!!

Thats the main question I want answering :p Why is it fine when RDCing?
 
Man of Honour
Joined
17 Oct 2002
Posts
5,623
Location
On holiday
NightmareXX said:
Whats RMA?

Return Merchandise Authorization

And for the OP your problem is either a faulty or overheating core , Regardless of how hot the heatsink is geting to the touch if you have bad contact with the VPU no heat will be transfered to the heatsink so it will feel cool except the chip underneath it will be roasting.
 
Back
Top Bottom