Switched To Linux

Soldato
Hey All,

Finally switched over to Linux at home, During my work life i use linux pretty much alld ay from command line in .... windows...

however took the jump into Ubuntu Budgie tonight for my gaming/coding rig.... (Yikes i hear) worth a try!

System Monitor goodness! :)
1HglILP.jpg

tcjfzbz.jpg

Associate
Abandoned Windows completely for Linux like 6 years ago, haven't looked back.

I don't miss Windows at all.

Check out Lutris and Steam Play/Proton if you haven't, both are pretty much preconfigured Wine front-end for Windows games.

Soldato
OP
Abandoned Windows completely for Linux like 6 years ago, haven't looked back.

I don't miss Windows at all.

Check out Lutris and Steam Play/Proton if you haven't, both are pretty much preconfigured Wine front-end for Windows games.
already installing gta & witcher 3 :)

Associate
Welcome to the club!

I've been using Linux nearly exclusively for about 6 years now. It's amazing how much better gaming has got in this relatively short period. I do still have Windows installed and use it very occasionally, but being able to now play about 95% of my games on Linux I can't remember the last time I booted into it. You lose a bit of performance and often have to do some extra configuration but it's totally worth it to use a nicer OS.

Associate
Not having to deal with Windows' crap makes it really worth it for me.

Occasionally I run into issues where things aren't scaled properly because I'm running 4k monitor with Budgie desktop scaling set to 200%, hope that'll get sorted sometime, but for the most part, it doesn't really hinder my gaming experience.

I've been playing Skyrim at 4k with RX 570, ran surprisingly well, even with a bit of performance loss because it's running under Wine.

Soldato