1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

synology nas question

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by hornetstinger, May 10, 2019.

  1. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 5,686

    Just bought ds418. I have a 3tb, 2tb and 2tb drive.

    Once these are installed can I add another hd without disrupting the data on the other drives, and when I add a 10tb just slot it in format it then move files from the two 2tb onto the 10tb then remove them?

    Is the os stored on one of the hd? If so removing hd will bigger it? I'll use the 3tb for music storage.

    I'll be use individual drive layout.

    What if I install the 3tb first then setup the Nas install firmware the os is installed to that and then add the two 2tb?
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2019
  2. Silent Bob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 24, 2002

    Posts: 1,964

    Location: Cambridge

    I believe the nas creates a small raid1 array for the os across whatever disks you install. You can then add and remove disks and it'll re-configure itself without having to re-install the os.
     
  3. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 5,686

    I have a 64gb ssd I no longer use would there be any benefit of using this in the Nas? Pity can't set which drive os and apps are installed.

    There's something in install setup about SHR.
     
  4. Silent Bob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 24, 2002

    Posts: 1,964

    Location: Cambridge

  5. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,069

    Location: Parts Unknown

    My advice..

    Just buy 4x drives the same size that are big enough so you'll never want to 'upgrade' them. Either get WD Red drives or Seagate Ironwolf.

    Either set them to RAID5 or RAID10. Single drives is madness in a NAS.

    4x4TB drives, RAID5 = 12TB usable
    4x4TB drives, RAID10 = 8TB usable