1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Fury Pro Fiji Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. los

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 26, 2011

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Great Yarmouth

    Thats great, thanks for the reply :)
     
  2. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,689

    Location: Knowhere

    I have the original overclocked tri-x model that comes with 1040 mhz on the core, With +60 on the voltage I can bench firestrike cleanly (no artifacting) at 1150 mhz but for running games it's 1130 mhz. It says I can unlock the shaders but I've never tried too. I don't bother overclocking the memory but I stuck an extra 50 on it once and it was fine but I haven't tried beyond that. Mine has a low ASIC of 61.5%
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2016
  3. Aretak

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,822

    You should definetly give unlocking the shaders a go at some point. It's just a simple BIOS mod and the Tri-X has a dual BIOS, so there's no risk. You can just flip the switch and flash the original BIOS back to undo it if it's unstable. Many people have had great success with 3840, although the full 4096 being unlockable and stable seems much rarer. Would be nice to have a full air-cooled Fiji though (that isn't gimped like the Nano).
     
  4. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,689

    Location: Knowhere

    I may do one day if I get bored after I buy a new card but I've never messed with the bio's before and wouldn't know where to start, I did look at a tutorial but didn't understand it so it's easier to simply wait for Vega and when I sell this the next owner can if they want.
     
  5. DM8104

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 4, 2015

    Posts: 90

    I've decided to go for the Sapphire Nitro OC+ on Overclockers at £289.99. Hopeful that I'm lucky in the silicon lottery with regards to overclocking. This will actually be my first GPU that I have bought new, rather the 2nd hand.
     
  6. los

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 26, 2011

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Great Yarmouth

    290 on a 480? That's ridiculous, you can get the fury for that. Or if you get a Gigabyte 1070 with free psu and game, sell those bits on, it won't be much more and much much better performance!
     
  7. Aretak

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,822

    ?

    He bought a Fury Nitro.
     
  8. los

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 26, 2011

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Great Yarmouth

    Oh yeah oops, makes me look a bit silly lol, I could have sworn I saw 480 nitro. In that case good choice then :)
     
  9. Rezident

    Mobster

    Joined: May 29, 2007

    Posts: 4,311

    Location: Dublin

    Any joy clocking these? I didnt need to before and mostly playing csgo anyway lately but dx mankind divided is a beast! I have the asus strix. Most people seemed to be saying they didnt really clock much at all.
     
  10. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,689

    Location: Knowhere

    Like many of us I'm going to be replacing my Fury pro in the next few months and I'm going to be sorry to see it go, It's a first gen oc edition Sapphire Fury Tri-x and it's been a joy to live with, I run it at stock and I've just finished a few hours gaming session in the DX11 title Call of Chernobyl where the max temp during that time was 73 degrees with a max fan speed of 39%. I don't use headphones and the PC which sits on the floor next to me never get's louder than a barely heard hum even at load. RTG has done a great job with drivers too, Comparing the last 18 months to the same period before it it's been like night and day. 2 years ago Lisa Su said they do not want AMD to be considered the lesser brand and since then with Raja Koduri heading up the gpu side of AMD they've proved it isn't, Here's to a strong 2017.
     
  11. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,880

    Location: Leeds

    Well after owning a fury x briefly last year before it died recently I have been wanting another one but the prices have been silly, so I have got a pair of fury nitro.

    So far I have 1 and it's pretty damn fast compared to my rx480's. I tried unlocking the first one but it didn't unlock at all :( hopefully I have better luck with the second one.

    Very impressed with the card and cooler so far with the fans maxed out in firestrike on 1.33v on the core it only reaches 48c max. That's pretty Insane, I have water blocks on cards that run warmer than this!!!
     
  12. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,689

    Location: Knowhere

    If you get a good one you've got a very user friendly card,
    I only ever user the auto fan setting and with the box clock of 1040mhz it remains quieter than the pc's case fans and never passes 79 degrees,
    That balance between noise and temperature is pretty much perfect.
    The thing that makes them that good with temps is the open back end where there's nothing to slow the 3rd fans airflow passing through a full third of the heatsink,
    That's on the original Tri-x, The Nitro model has a slightly longer pcb but in comparison the Asus Fury has a full length pcb & backplate
    and temps are notably hotter than the Nitro's and Tri-x's.
    If I was you I wouldn't be buying another Fury this late in the day and instead I'd be waiting for Vega, However so far as the 28nm cards go it's a good one.
     
  13. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,880

    Location: Leeds

    I already bought another one, I don't like to have only one card. Got them for just over 200 each so not a terrible price. I was pleased to see that it beat my 1500mhz rx480 when the fury was just at stock speed. :O
     
  14. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,880

    Location: Leeds

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    i like these cards. top card only hit 52c max with fans on 100% with less than 1 slot of breathing room and the core having 1.33v
     
  15. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,689

    Location: Knowhere

    They're certainly clocking well at 1160/1170.
     
  16. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,880

    Location: Leeds

    Yes. The one that is 1050 stock did 1200 without much trouble but this 1020 is a bit slower. I need to get a bios with hbm voltage control as well because I think increasing the memory speed has a big affect on the performance. Just 25mhz is 5% on these cards so a 600mhz memory speed would be a really nice improvement over stock. It's a real shame they don't unlock at all. I tried 3776, 3840 and 4096 bios for the card and none worked :(.

    I don't think they would be 100% stable at 1160/570 daily, but 1150/560 would be easy and hopefully the extra memory clock will increase this further.

    This is what I got with a single card the other day
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    This is on the stock bios as well. I would be interested to see if I raised to power limit to 350-400w per card if that would help.
     
  17. prjwebb

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 751

    That's good going on the clocks. I think the best I've had mine is 1140/520. I haven't pushed the volts too much higher than stock though. At stock clocks with an undervolt they run really nice and cool btw.
     
  18. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,880

    Location: Leeds

    i just leave it at +75mv in trixx which is 1.33v on the core. they run really cool anyway. i dont even think they use that much power either. my full system with 1800x@4.1ghz and 2x furys only pulled 895w peak from the wall. i was hoping for it to manage over 1000w tbh. maybe if i could unlock the cores they would use a bit more power.

    @Kaapstad

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
  19. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,689

    Location: Knowhere

    I haven't seen any clocking like those, If you get the time put some results up on some of the gaming bench threads. With +60mv (haven't tried higher) I can do 1140 (used to be 1150, go figure) for Firestrike and 1120 on most game benches, I might try +75 to push higher for a few bench runs but I think I'm at the limit of what the chip can do, That said I'm not clued up for overclocking, my card tells me it can unlock but I don't know how if I'm honest and not that worried as I wondered whether unlocking them would make them more unstable and then cause them to overclock less..
     
  20. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,880

    Location: Leeds

    yes i dont have many games tbh, but i think the newest one i have is civ vi? it does sound like your card may be slower if you give it extra voltage and it does 1140mhz. i think 1120-1150 is average kind of overclock for these? as for unlocking, yes it could be unstable, but tbh if 4096 is shaky but 3840 is fine then that is ~10% more performance and with these dual bios on these cards, you would have to try pretty hard to brick it :p. i really like unlocking things, like the phenom II x4 i have that unlocks to 6 cores, it does oc as well maybe 150-200mhz less, but 50% more cores makes it way faster in most cases. think of it like you are upgrading your gpu to the next one up for free :)