1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Official 5830 Thread!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Muel, May 8, 2010.

  1. Kelt

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 14, 2007

    Posts: 10,540

    Location: With the færies


    Every review I've read the 460 (especially the Palit 1GB SP) is not only beating the 5830 but pretty much equal to the 5850.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/3809/nvidias-geforce-gtx-460-the-200-king/13
     
  2. The Running Man

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 33,211

    Location: block 16, cell 12

    which version? thr 768mb or the 1gb?

    given u can get a 1gb 5830 for £140 inc it would be a bit silly to compare it against the sonic platinum at £200!
     
  3. spirits247

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 29, 2007

    Posts: 713

    I think Muel is thinking of the GTX 465 - now the GTX 460 has been released, which is confusingly faster than the 465 in most games, the market has changed.

    Even more confusing, the GTX 460 1GB is faster than the 768MB version by having a bigger memory bus and more ROPS - they should have had different model names.

    One thing to remember, the GTX 460 pretty much removes the tesselation advantage nvidia had due to a redesign of the chip and is therefore slower at tesselation than the 465/470/480. In most if not all games, the 1GB version is faster than the 5830. The 768MB version is a lot closer. They all use similar amounts of power.

    I think the 5770, 5830, 5850 and 5870 might drop in price now before the ATI refresh. The GTX 460 1GB is a very nice mid-range card, but the 5830 will still be a fantastic solution at a lower price point as it's not far behind in performance.
     
  4. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,148

    Location: Belfast

    Thought I would give others feedback about my experiences so far with a Sapphire 5830:

    Default voltage and cooling I can hit somewhere between 1000Mhz and 1040Mhz on the core and somewhere around 1300Mhz on the memory.

    That's using MSI Afterburner with the unofficial overclocking config edit:

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-5830-review/26

    It's voltmodded and watercooled now, but I seem to have hit a wall at around 1150Mhz, which seems strange given that it does 1000Mhz on default volts and cooling.

    Any ideas? I suppose it could just be one of those things, especially being a cut-down budget card.
     
  5. The Running Man

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 33,211

    Location: block 16, cell 12

    jimbo, can you do me a favour and do a 3dmark vantage run at that core?

    with my sapph 5830 i managed

    Graphics Score 13650

    with your OC i predict more like 14500? which is pretty much the same as a GTX460 overclocked:)
     
  6. Muel

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 26, 2009

    Posts: 3,026

    Location: Sheffield

    I was indeed, if you look in the first post I think I posted a benchmark test of the 5830 vs GTX465.

    I really hope the prices have a nice big drop soon, I fancy trying out CF, if I ever solve my lockup issues. :p
     
  7. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,148

    Location: Belfast

    OK will do.

    If it helps, I get 17,500 in 3DMark 2006 with the CPU @ 4Ghz and card at 1100/1300.
     
  8. The Running Man

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 33,211

    Location: block 16, cell 12

    ta i cant remember my 06 score but 06 is more CPU weighted than Vantage i think which strips out cpu score and allows u to get a better score.
     
  9. gwr3850

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 18, 2010

    Posts: 186

    Well after hearing the terrible shambles with the Palit 460 cards. I opted and bought the saphire 5830 instead. Anyone else have one? This is my first ATI card too
     
  10. OzZie

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 9, 2004

    Posts: 4,521

    Location: Nottingham

    Yes i have one.

    Standard cooler is adaquate but not amazingly great. Getting some decent overclocks out of them without too much hassle and fiddling around which is boosting framerates somewhat closer to that of the 5850.

    However, driver wise, only 10.3 and 10.5 and 10.6 will even recognise the card and install a driver for it. If you're on Vista/7, you may have to run the performance rating tool for it to actually allow you access to aero and the 3d elements to Windows.
     
  11. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,148

    Location: Belfast

    I simply unplugged my 4830 and popped in the Sapphire 5830. One reboot and it's done.

    I was using 10.6 cats and didn't need to reinstall (admittedly I'm not using CCC if that makes a difference).

    My experience with the Sapphire has been entirely positive - I used the standard cooler for a while to test before putting my trusty waterblock on and found it to be very quiet but with some pretty amazing cooling capacity when forcing the fan to 100%, albeit at the expense of my eardrums.

    I was getting approx. 68'C fully loaded with default fan (very quiet), 48'C with fan on max (VERY LOUD!) and 33'c fully loaded with the waterblock (at standard clocks and voltage).
     
  12. Muel

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 26, 2009

    Posts: 3,026

    Location: Sheffield

    It was 10.2, 10.5, 10.5a and 10.6 that officially supported the 5830. 10.3 worked for some people, but not all, and 10.4 didn't work at all.

    10.6 seems to be fine for me though. It's the only one I've had no trouble with since 10.2... :p
     
  13. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,148

    Location: Belfast

    OK done. Forgotten how poor Vantage is...

    7181 on CPU
    14158 on GPU

    11391 overall

    CPU @ 4Ghz
    GPU @ 1100Mhz
    GPU mem @ 1300 Mhz

    Cat 10.6, Windows 7 64bit
     
  14. The Running Man

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 33,211

    Location: block 16, cell 12

    not bad fwiw i hit 17,200 with a GTX 470 oc to a medium state.

    you can buy and crossfire 2x 5830 for about that price and u will probably hit at least 25k lol!
     
  15. Muel

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 26, 2009

    Posts: 3,026

    Location: Sheffield

    Stop tempting me! xD
     
  16. spirits247

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 29, 2007

    Posts: 713

    Well, I'm still lovin' my Powercolor 5830 for its 5870 cooler, lower voltage setting (even though it means it doesn't overclock as well as the Sapphire) and whisper quiet operation. It may be a long card and over engineered for its performance, but it plays all my games fine and I'd rather have a quiet and cool DX11 card.

    That's something some 460 owners are not enjoying at the moment: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18164631

    I think they may have skipped on the cooling solution on the GTX 460!
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2010
  17. Muel

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 26, 2009

    Posts: 3,026

    Location: Sheffield

    Spirits, I think I've FINALLY sorted my crashings. Took 2 months, a new motherboard, new hard drive and £180 spent on them, but....

    I uninstalled the the software for my keyboard, and it's been running for 27 hours. Oh joy.
     
  18. spirits247

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 29, 2007

    Posts: 713

    Fingers crossed for you Muel. :)

    Hope you manage to sell or get use out of those components you've replaced so far, now you know it wasn't them causing the crash.
     
  19. Muel

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 26, 2009

    Posts: 3,026

    Location: Sheffield

    Well I replaced the motherboard, which I'm pretty sure was borked, because it was badly bent in one corner from where I dropped it into the case, and it had a deep scratch on the back. The only other thing I replaced was my hard drive, and I went from an F1 320gb to an F3 1tb, (technically two F3 1tbs because I already had one), so I'm going to sell the 320gb to my brother for his computer.

    I'm looking for a cheap AM3 CPU in MM anyway to test it with, if it runs alright I'll set it up as a Linux machine in my bedroom methinks. :p

    Got a nice speed increase going from the 320gb to the 1tb as a primary drive anyway. I'm now seing some funny looking HDtune results, but it runs fine and things are loading a bit faster. Windows seems to boot faster as well, although I haven't had a chance to time it because I'm trying to see if my computer can run for a few days without crashing.

    Over 37 hours so far, touch wood....
     
  20. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,148

    Location: Belfast

    Slight updates from my card:

    1) Heatsinks for the memory - up to you whether it's worth it, but as expected, they do very little. I got about an extra 50 Mhz from using heatsinks on them. Obviously you can only do this if you remove the stock cooler. Not sure if vMem mod helps, but I've killed a card from this before, so I'm too chicken to bother...

    2) Core voltage - from what I can gather from my tests and the feedback from Xtremesystems, the voltage supply (of the card, not my PSU) isn't stable enough to the core at high clock speeds. Check this out:

    Default (1.15 V) = ~1050 Mhz
    1.25 V = ~1125 Mhz
    1.30 V = ~1140 Mhz
    1.35 V = ~1150 Mhz

    I've not seen such poor response to voltage increases before and it's certainly not a temperature issue on the core (max I've seen is 38'C) or any other component (inspected all VRs / fets / whatever) and nothing is hot to the touch.

    I'm not hardcore enough to do cap mods, so it'll have to stay as it is. Shame as I'd hoped for 50% increase = 1200 Mhz :D

    Highest benches so far with various speeds on the CPU (up to 4.3 Ghz):

    3DMark2001 = 66,732
    3DMark2003 = 71,789
    3DMark2005 = 26,413
    3DMark2006 = 18,722

    Just off to do some Vantage...

    :D

    EDIT -

    3DMarkVantage = 11,727
    (CPU = 7664)
    (GPU = 14,245)
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010