THREAD BUMP: New build garden - seriously where do I start!?

Associate
This is what I found today when I visited this new build I'm buying.

The garden is in Northern England, is north-east facing towards the back fence with a side part (around to the right of the house) which extends 2-3m from the edge of the house and is south-east facing.

The builder will sell the house with just a skim of top soil. The only fences are are on external boundaries only - e.g., to the left of the picture is a neighbour boundary without a fence currently.

The ground slopes gradually away from the house, the drainage doesn't look good but not sure if that's just because there is no grass there.

I'm a complete gardening novice, where do I even start? The builder said they would rotavate it for me but not sure if that's going to be enough!

Any ideas welcome!
images%2Ft2_c5tw7%2Fqnj2c1s1hir01

9pXVGea.jpg
dWdBD

Last edited:
Associate
You've got a blank canvas there.
Decide your budget and have a look for garden design progs and/or get some quotes in to design what you want (you don't have to use them but it gives you ideas.)
Or just get it as level as you can and lay lawn fence to fence for now and decide down the line if you want borders, shrubs etc.
I'd let them rotovate it for nothing. Worse that can happen is you'd have to do it yourself or pay.

Hitman
Soldato
Nice sized garden!

If this was mine, I'd be thinking ahead about the drainage issues you will have. Drainage on our new build lawn was decent last year, but with the vast amounts of snow and rain we've had since December it's really starting to hold water on the surface. We have about 3-5 inches of soil then sand layers, then what seems to be mostly clay after that.