THREAD BUMP: New build garden - seriously where do I start!?

Associate
This is what I found today when I visited this new build I'm buying.

The garden is in Northern England, is north-east facing towards the back fence with a side part (around to the right of the house) which extends 2-3m from the edge of the house and is south-east facing.

The builder will sell the house with just a skim of top soil. The only fences are are on external boundaries only - e.g., to the left of the picture is a neighbour boundary without a fence currently.

The ground slopes gradually away from the house, the drainage doesn't look good but not sure if that's just because there is no grass there.

I'm a complete gardening novice, where do I even start? The builder said they would rotavate it for me but not sure if that's going to be enough!

Any ideas welcome!
images%2Ft2_c5tw7%2Fqnj2c1s1hir01

9pXVGea.jpg
dWdBD

Last edited:
Associate
OP
I really appreciate all the replies sorry I’m at work so I can’t be more specific but I’ll try and keep the thread going to show what I do with it.

I queried why we don’t get grass and the sales people said they used to do that but they found everything would just die and people complained so in a way I’m glad I get to DIY it. Not saying I’ll succeed but I’ll have some fun along the way!

They have made a front garden but I think that’s looking a bit fragile so once I learn how to prepare the ground I might dig it up and do the same before replanting the turf, shrubs and tree that are there. Would be a shame to see a young tree die!

Associate
OP
I've been thinking about the garden for the past 6 weeks and this is version 3 of a design I've been tweaking. Thought I'd share to get some feedback

oUV7VJY.jpg

Associate
OP