• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Undervolting GPU should be standard procedure

ne0

ne0

Associate
I can't believe I've never tried this before but I finally got round to properly understanding how to undervolt a gpu and now I feel stupid for never doing this before.

I have a case which is not very good when it comes to airflow and a pretty small room which gets really uncomfortably hot with my gpu mostly sitting at 79 to 81c with the window wide open.

The clock speed would always end up fluctuating due to the temperature and the temps, whilst not dangerous or anything, always bothered me, plus it just got too hot in here!

After undervolting to .850mv my gpu never goes above 65c and I've even seen it as low as 59c which to me is just incredible compared to what I'm used to. That's with the gpu now pegged at its boost clock of 1875mhz with no movement ever.

If anyone else has thought about trying this then I'd say don't hesitate, it's essential imo. Hope this helps someone else!

Last edited:
Soldato
Yep. Surprised more people don't do it.
And if you do it right, you lose very very little performance if any. And a moderate undervolt can actually yield higher sustained clocks and better performance compared to running at stock or even certain overclocks. All whilst using significantly less power and therefore producing way less heat.

I've been doing it for years! (doing on a 3090FE now)

Soldato