Unsure where to connect cooler RGB connector

Associate
I have a Cooler Master Hyper 212 RGB Edition cooler. A bit confused where to plug in the RGB connector on a Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X Mobo. I'm new to RGB and it's a little unclear from the labels on the mobo and the details in the manual. The connector is a 4-pin female type.

Next to the CPU_Fan header there are 3 other headers. One is CPU_Opt, which from the manual shows as 'Water cooling CPU fan header'. The next one is labelled 'G DV' and is a 3-pin connector. The manual shows this as 'D_LED1/D_LED2'. The 4th header is a 4-pin labelled 'BRG 12V'. In the manual this shows as 'LED_C1/LED_C2'. I thought this was the correct header. But the manual details this as being for 'RGB LED strip headers'! :-/

IMG-5718.jpg

The cooler does come with a controller. Do I just need to use this? Kind of imagined I'd be able to connect it to the mobo seeing as it's a pretty new model. As I said, new to RGB. This is my first RGB device! So :confused:

Associate
This cooler needs to be used with included controller. The controller has switches on to control the rgb colour and mode. the controller is power by sata and not needed to be plugged into the rgb header on the mobo :)

Associate
OP
This cooler needs to be used with included controller. The controller has switches on to control the rgb colour and mode. the controller is power by sata and not needed to be plugged into the rgb header on the mobo :)

Ah okay. That’s a shame. Was kind of hoping it could connect to mobo and be controlled from software. No worries. I’ll probably just set and forget anyway ;)

Soldato
Last edited:
Associate
OP
I wonder if you use the RGB controller when your motherboard doesn't have an RGB controller? If it's the same connector, try it.
That’s what I thought. Wasn’t sure though if it’s not correct I might do some damage somewhere, hence why I posted here for advice. All new to me this RGB stuff :confused:

Associate
OP