Vista wont see my Sata Drive.

Associate
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
1,980
Location
Swindon. =)
As topic, i've been struggling for the last 4 hours to even get my vista install to find my Sata drive, when i trialled RC2 i used an IDE drive and this was fine but i dont have an IDE drive in my system now and the only thing that is detected is the USB external which it obviously doesn't (and i wouldn't) install to.

I got the only drivers for Sata/raid from the gigabyte site but doesnt do anything during the install.

for info i'm using
E6300 Duel Core
Gigabyte DS4
2gb ram
160gb Sata internal (xp installed on, didnt need drivers for xp btw!)
300gb usb external

Help!
 
Man of Honour
Joined
11 Mar 2003
Posts
10,706
Location
Greenock, Scotland
Should be an easy fix..

1) Make sure that the drive is plugged into the SATA1 port (Intel controller).

2) Go into the BIOS and make sure that the Intel ports have RAID disabled, this should set the controller into single drive mode which doesn't need a driver.

3) Start the Vista setup and the drive should be detected automatically.

Make sure you disconnect the USB drive in case it decides to make that the c: drive or put any of the boot files on there.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
1,980
Location
Swindon. =)
thats how it set up which is probably why XP didnt need any drivers, on boot menu the Sata shows as Primary IDE.

If i start this install in windows it sees the drive ok and starts the install but when it reboots it blue screens which is probably because it can no longer see the drive.

:( :( :(
 
Don
Joined
23 Oct 2005
Posts
43,996
Location
North Yorkshire
When the blue screen appears that is to setup Windows do you press F6 to install the RAID driver?
On my laptop I have to do this and have the correct driver on a floppy disc, this is the only way for me to install Windows on my sata.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
11 Mar 2003
Posts
10,706
Location
Greenock, Scotland
Not played about with Vista yet so this is assumption - if it manages to see the disk in the initial part of the install then it should be OK all the way through. Do you ask it to format the target partition during the install?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
1,980
Location
Swindon. =)
I dont get a blue screen on install install, they wern't needed for XP and i dont have any drivers for the Sata drive. I've tried sata drivers from Gigabyte to use the 'load driver' option but it doesn't except them and if i untick the option to use other drivers nothing happens.

Not played about with Vista yet so this is assumption - if it manages to see the disk in the initial part of the install then it should be OK all the way through. Do you ask it to format the target partition during the install?

If i install from boot it does not detect any hdd's except the external drive, if i do it within windows it detects the drive fine but apon reboot just BSOD's.

The 160gb sata has my XP on it and 20gb on a seperate partition which i want to use for vista, both are detected furing install in XP but niether in Boot install.
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
1,980
Location
Swindon. =)
the only driver i have tried is from the gigabyte download page for my motherboard for Sata / Raid but it doesn't except the driver....well it doesn't say anything but it still doesn't show my hdd.

Drivers used were as below in the sata section, 32bit version.
Clicky
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
1,980
Location
Swindon. =)
doesnt matter if its connected or not, should still show all available driver... like it does in windows, doesn't show any if it's disconnected. I was using it so try and load drivers from.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
15 Nov 2005
Posts
2,124
Location
Basingstoke, UK
For what it's worth, I have pretty much exactly the same problem - I installed Vista on a PATA drive which is fine (an 80Gb drive, split equally for Vista, XP Pro and Linux) but under Vista it refuses to acknowledge the presence of the 200Gb SATA drive I have installed for data. I know the SATA drive works because it is seem EVERY time in XP/Linux but 90% of the time Vista doesn't even list it in Device Manager. I have run drive testing software on it and I know the drive/mobo are sound.

Notice I said 90%, on the very odd occasion it does appear :confused:

I am running an ASRock 775Twins-HDTV (not the R2.0 though), and there are no specific Vista drivers but surely the fact that it occasionally sees the drive means the default drivers do work?
 
Associate
Joined
28 Oct 2002
Posts
209
Location
france
I'm running an asus a8n-sli deluxe with two sata drives, only my dvd is ide and all is well, mind you I don't have to install any driver with this board ;)
Dual bootin xp and and vista happy as little pigs
 
Back
Top Bottom