1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** VPN Thread ***

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by kPATm, Mar 26, 2017.

  1. Rainmaker

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 18, 2007

    Posts: 8,322

    Location: Liverpool

    Nobody can tell you what services the council has blocked, or how. We're not psychic. Many companies block entire VPN IP ranges these days (Netflix, Amazon, BBC etc), it's trivial. Do you have IPv6 connectivity or just IPv4? Your best bet is likely to sign up for a lesser known/smaller provider like Mullvad, AzireVPN, WireVPN or (insert small service here). They're less likely to be blocked outright, and in any case less likely to have their many endpoints on a blacklist even if their main website is. For the sake of a couple of quid for one month's service, you've not much to lose - especially as they predominantly offer a money back guarantee (you're pushing it there, as the problem's at your end, but they're decent companies and should be OK about it). Connect over mobile/public WiFi, make an account and get the configs, save them to your PC/laptop/whatever, and then try to connect via the Council WiFi.

    Some protocols may be blocked but not others (eg they may block OpenVPN but not IPSEC, or WireGuard etc). Ditto some ports. Try something like WireGuard over port 443 or 53 if the defaults fail. Just experiment. Likely you'll soon be up and running as most services don't spend much money on trying to enforce really strict DPI, rather they rely on a firewall to funnel traffic to basic ports (53 for DNS, 80 for web, 443 for TLS). You can generally take advantage of that.
     
  2. wigster

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 996

    Location: Devon

    Thanks that was just the kind of info I needed:) I wasn't even sure how things are blocked if it was the Council or the ISP. The only thing I do know is that we only have IPv4. Twitter isn't blocked and that has porn on it but dating websites and their apps are blocked.
     
  3. kevcampbell

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 8, 2017

    Posts: 101

    Not sure if anyone here has used Digibit VPN but if anyone is looking for a low cost VPN you can not go wrong with them
     
  4. mrochester

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 29, 2003

    Posts: 5,213

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    Why do certain sites and features break when connected to a VPN? This morning both the Lloyds banking app and logging into a Now Broadband account were both completely broken until I disconnected from my VPN.
     
  5. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,391

    Lets assume I have managed to get hold of your online banking details, am I going to a) connect directly using my home IP or b) hide behind a VPN, same with online stores from a fraud perspective and some other sites. This is why every thread where someone suggests running a VPN at a router level includes a warning that VPN'ing all your traffic isn't something most people should do without some serious thought.
     
  6. b0rn2sk8

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 9, 2003

    Posts: 5,169

    Personally I have not had issues accessing those sites from behind a VPN but I don’t turn on things like the VPN level ad blocking service most seem to have these days. Those really tend to break stuff and you can’t whitelist unlike a browser extension, I’m guessing because they block the tracking cookies needed for the site to work.
     
  7. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,391

    The problem I have with them is they are UK based and they seem to be very sparse on anything other than the usual marketing crap, that should set alarm bells ringing in this day and age.
     
  8. wigster

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 996

    Location: Devon

    This might help someone but I'm sure most will know, I downloaded the android Opera browser because I saw it had VPN added to it, and to my delight I can now access all the sites I couldn't before:cool::)
     
  9. wigster

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 996

    Location: Devon

    Well ignore what I have wrote, didn't last long, now I can't connect to anything when you turn on VPN.
     
  10. snow patrol

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 3,831

    Location: London

    having moved from my virgin media 350meg connected home to a place with vodaphone adsl I've finally succumbed to getting a vpn. Mainly because this isp seems to block a LOT of sites. Being able to watch american netflix is a nice bonus as well.
     
  11. wigster

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 996

    Location: Devon

    Who did you go with?
     
  12. snow patrol

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 3,831

    Location: London

    nord at the moment, seeing how it goes with the 30 day money back etc. Seems fine to be honest.
     
  13. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 25,421

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    Looking for a VPN. Mostly for downloading torrents of Linux distros and Foreign streaming service access like Netflix and Prime which isnt even available in Sweden yet. Also BBC Iplayer and other Uk TV services.

    have a 250/250 connection and would like to retain as much as humanly possible.

    Looking for a 3 year deal, (is that long sensible?) so a company that will hopefully be around for a while....

    Top 3 options?

    NordVPN comes to mind but only because i see it spammed everywhere! surely not a great thing?

    many thanks.
     
  14. b00merang69

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 27, 2019

    Posts: 2,412

    If you are an existing Nord customer keep an eye out for an email from them, you log into your account (do it from your own saved URL not the email to be safe) and you will see a Gift of 1 month free onto your Sub.
     
  15. Haze

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 10, 2007

    Posts: 3,114

    I am looking at getting rid of my landline as my broadband speed sucks arse, Thinking of going down the 4G route, will i still be able to use a VPN? or is it going to go wrong if Three or EE who ever think i am using it in Mexico or somewhere : P ?
     
  16. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,391

    That’s not how a VPN works - your network provider knows exactly where you are connecting from on a mobile to within a few feet, you use an encrypted connection to your chosen end point eg Mexico, the sites you access then believe your connection originated from Mexico.
     
  17. chris.tarry85

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 29, 2005

    Posts: 335

    Has anyone successfully used their Synology NAS as a VPN gateway? Wondered how resource intensive it was?
     
  18. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,391

    Can you be more specific in model/protocol? For example, if you’re using OpenVPN it all comes down to the CPU type and it’s core speed/if it supports hardware encryption. If not, it’ll be slow. Changing to UDP may mitigate that, but without knowing your connection speed and what CPU we’re talking about, it’s kind of a moot point.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2020
  19. Blinkz

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,126

    Location: Frimley, Surrey or 38,000ft

    Ok I’m sure a very noob question but I’m with ibVPN and use their windows app to connect to different servers. Pretty much every time I connect to one I have a pop up from windows asking about the network and asking about being discoverable. It’s really annoying, is there any way to stop it or is it just the way the vpn connects? Cheers.
     
  20. xraycat87

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 21, 2012

    Posts: 1,031

    Location: Doncaster

    Hiya.

    What vpn would be best for me to use on my Vodafone Gigacube to get round the strict Nat type.