1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

(!Warning! Fudzilla!) Eeeek 2900XT may need a 750W+ PSU

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Mortster, May 3, 2007.

  1. Mortster

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 10, 2003

    Posts: 655

  2. Mortster

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 10, 2003

    Posts: 655

  3. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 27, 2005

    Posts: 17,089

    Location: Guernsey -channel islands

    I think they got that wrong.....

    It should be one 2x3 pin PCI express and one 2x4 pin PCI express
     
  4. Mortster

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 10, 2003

    Posts: 655

    :) 2x3 = 6 , 2x4 = 8. :p
     
  5. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 27, 2005

    Posts: 17,089

    Location: Guernsey -channel islands

    Oops :o
     
  6. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 3, 2004

    Posts: 9,705

    Location: UK

    I already posted on this , to recap. Even an overclocked dual C2D+2900XT isn't going to use more than 350W/30A@12V. A good 500W PSU will be fine for most people. Its just to cover the PSU manufacturers who quote peak power levels. Its aimed at the general user who probably doesn't know what a rail or amp means. A more interesting problem is an overclocked 2900XT is getting very close to the overcurrent limit for a single rail. If you have a PSU with very strict OCP limits and the manufacturer has stuck to the ATX spec. Then the cpu is on one rail the remainder is on the other, it could well trip out.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2007
  7. Sean_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 6, 2006

    Posts: 2,509

    Location: South East

    So take that with a pinch of salt, its just like Nvidia saying you need 500w minimum for GTS/GTX yet so many have them running on 480w, 430w and even 380w in some cases working 100% fine. :)
     
  8. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 27, 2005

    Posts: 17,089

    Location: Guernsey -channel islands

    The problem is....Which PSU's under 600watts come with a 2x3 PCI express and a 2x4 PCI express plug....

    I know my Enermax Infiniti 720W has two 2x3 PCI express and one 2x4 PCI express...but i don't know which lower power PSU's come with the 2x4 PCI express plugs..
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2007
  9. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 3, 2004

    Posts: 9,705

    Location: UK

    It'll be down to adapters I suppose. This 2x3 pin lark is very confusing.

    There is very little difference power wise between a 6 and 8 pin plug. The 8pin has to more commons, no extra 12v. Its only a slight 25w rating increase. Not actual power.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2007
  10. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 25,541

    Location: OcUK HQ

    Hi there

    It does not require a 750W PSU !

    It consumes 200W a maximum of 200W at stock speeds. :)
     
  11. Delvis

    Caporegime

    Joined: Nov 7, 2004

    Posts: 26,269

    Location: Buckinghamshire

    Nice, 200w is low though no?

    I suppose theyre predicting the power usage of every other component in the sytem...assuming everyones on 8 cored cpu's and what not by the time its released =P /joke
     
  12. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 27, 2005

    Posts: 17,089

    Location: Guernsey -channel islands

    But you need a 2x3 pin and 2x8 pin for overclocking...and most smaller PSU's don't come with a 2x8pin.....

    So the Card no good if we can't overclock it ;) or has this forum changed to stockclockers now!!!!!
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2007
  13. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 3, 2004

    Posts: 9,705

    Location: UK

    No you need a 6 pin and an 8 pin. It'll have/need an adapter that converts 2x 6 pin to an 8 pin. So that's 3x 6 pins in total.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2007
  14. Tom|Nbk

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 12, 2006

    Posts: 20,548

    Location: Nottingham

    Most PSU suppliers will be sending out Free 8 Pin adaptors providing shipping is paid.

    Gibbo what PSU are you using with your card?, knew this wouldn't be true, Fuad should be banished from the internets, the utter moron.
     
  15. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 3, 2004

    Posts: 9,705

    Location: UK

    Enermax 1000w IIRC.

    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=9112225
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2007
  16. Fr0dders

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 33,235

    Location: West Yorks

    agreed

    that website comes out with so much %*!@ that its not true.
     
  17. Tom|Nbk

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 12, 2006

    Posts: 20,548

    Location: Nottingham

    How have you measured power usage Gibbo?
     
  18. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 25,541

    Location: OcUK HQ

    Hi there

    Our system had an Enermax 1000W PSU.

    I have the ATI Tech/Fact sheet here so upto 200W is requirement at stock clocks with 2x6pin connectors.

    If overclocking then you need 1x8pin and 1x6pin connected and then it consumes upto 225W.

    I hope ATI don't bash me for stating this but I don't want misleading information such as that going around.

    Fact is a decent quality 400-500W PSU will run of these cards fine if your running a Core 2 DUO system or Athlon X2 based system. :)
     
  19. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 3, 2004

    Posts: 9,705

    Location: UK

    Nuff said.
     
  20. Tom|Nbk

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 12, 2006

    Posts: 20,548

    Location: Nottingham



Share This Page