Watercooling MSI R9 390 Gaming 8GB

Associate
OP
I literally just built a Crossfire R9 390X setup at work this morning using Asus cards and it's running great.

I haven't checked the temps yet, but I'll give it a go so I can compare that with what I was seeing on my own single-card system. Not sure I can convince work that water cooling is a priority :D

Associate
I don't know what you do for work, but it sounds infinitely more fun that the pensions I'm currently reviewing :D

Would be interesting to hear the temps though. I can only imagine the top card must be ready to cook on!

Associate
OP
Hehe, I work in the games industry so I can get away with messing about with PC's at work quite a lot. It has it's moments, but I imagine it's certainly more entertaining than pensions :)

I didn't get a chance to check the crossfire temps in the end, but I've just been running Heaven for about 20 mins here, and I also didn't go above 48 degrees! WoW is still the thing that pushes it the highest!

Cheers

Associate
OP
So I just ran the temperature software on the machine at work with 2 x R9 390X cards (with standard air-cooling). I ran the basic 3D Mark tests, and after the cycle, the maximum temps were:

GPU1: 95
GPU2: 93
CPU: 76

So that's clearly very hot .. I could probably fry an egg on the top of the case! Might be worth taking the cards apart and re-doing the heat transfer paste if it's anything like my MSI card .. but these ones are ASUS. The CPU just has a universal Arctic Cooler fan on it, but it's much better than the stock fan that ships with the CPU.

Either way, I am getting about 50% of those temps with the water-cooling, so that's a good indicator of the benefit :D

Associate
Blimey! They must be throttling at those temps mustn't they? Interesting that they are both similar, I would have thought the top card would be much higher, but there isn't much in it.

Reapplied paste sounds like a good idea. Let us know the new temps if you do

Associate
OP