What cooler for 8700k ?

Associate
Hello,

What are the recommendations for cooling an 8700k ?
I have a CoolerMaster Haf 932 advanced case which so far has been cooling my 2700k with HyperEvo 212.
Tried to reuse it but the heatsink bracket screws are solidly screwed into the standoff's I can't get them out...

Thinking of AIO but not sure if I can fit it at the top ? 2 x 120mm Corsair fans are mounted at the top currently. Does that mean I can fit a 240mm rad ? Another reason I was thinking of AIO is because of the simplicity and trying to avoid the issue like I have now with my 212 Evo.

BUA

BUA

Associate
Big air!

I would pick something like Noctua Nh-d15 over an AIO, will cool as well as an AIO and without the pump noise/possibility of failure/less expensive.

BUA

BUA

Associate
I have never read about the weight of this cooler being a problem.

Mounting this cooler is a piece of cake compared to the hyper.

About the only problem may be with ram clearance, if you have tall ram.

Check for compatibility, here https://noctua.at/en/nh-d15/comp

Soldato
What BUA said. The only time I've seen motherboards damaged by big coolers were when owner didn't mount the cooler properly or they were seriously abused like shipping by courier or taking as luggage on a plane where their luggage handling gorillas have contests to see which one can throw boxes the highest and farthest. 45' is the max because that is the longest trailer they use. Saying that, our own OcUK ships built systems with big air coolers mounted and rarely has one damaged.

A good big air cooler is the easiest, coolest and quietest way forward. Some of the very best are Good old NH-D14, newer D15 and D15S, but the 15s' are not better cooling. Le Grand Macho RT is at least as good if not better than D15, as are Silver Arrow IB-E and TRUE Spirit 140 Power followed very closely by Mugen 5, PH-TC14PE, Archon IB-E an too many others to list. A good flowing case like yours will do well with a nice big air cooler