1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What retro things have you done today?

Discussion in 'Retro Gaming and Vintage Computing' started by Duke, 3 Feb 2019.

  1. Trick

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Oct 2003

    Posts: 3,684

    Location: York

    Same, I dont think I'll ever part from my old systems. Sadly I've reached the capacity of my loft!

    27 computers at last count, and 15 retro consoles! :)
     
  2. LewisRaz

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 3,270

    Location: North Essex

    27! I'm at 2 in use, 2 more built and 1 project ongoing.

    The Voodoo arrived today. Very quick post and well packed too.

    Had to use a 5ft long passthrough cable as I dont have a proper one but...

    [​IMG]

    Nice to hear that relay "click" that I have read about too.
     
  3. !bluetonic!

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,891

    Location: Swindon, UK

    27? :p Beats me.

    I have 7 retro units and about 10 various spec PCs and 2 daily drivers.

    I'm glad the Voodoo works. Great purchase.
     
  4. LewisRaz

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 3,270

    Location: North Essex

    Well my collection grew by 2 tonight.. Mrs is on some freecycle type app and got these 2 dead units. Perhaps I can get something fixed.
    Big one is some sort of athlon with a gigabyte board with 2x ISA slots so would be nice to get going. Shows D4D3 post code which means chipset is likely dead.
    Smaller one some sort of i3 system which looks like everything is good but just wont power on.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. almoststew1990

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 May 2011

    Posts: 5,709

    Location: Southampton

    I quite like that case that's pretending to be a 70's brown filing cabinet! It looks enormous and heavy though. I haven't seen anything on Gumtree or Facebook like that in ages.
     
  6. LewisRaz

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 3,270

    Location: North Essex

    It would be a nice restoration project should the GA-7IXE4 motherboard be able to be fixed. Quite doubtful tho as it seems beyond repair. If I can revive it I am tempted to use the board to replace my main retro system.
    Inside it had a TNT2 M64 32mb and a CT4810 as well as a netgear 10/100 NIC.
     
  7. !bluetonic!

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,891

    Location: Swindon, UK

    Woah. Your Mrs is encouraging your retro hobby?!
     
  8. LewisRaz

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 3,270

    Location: North Essex

    Surprisingly yes! Only when its not costing me lots :p
    Shes pretty good to be honest... I have been using a big beige tower as a bed side cabinet for quite a long time and she has not even moaned about it..
     
  9. paradigm

    Caporegime

    Joined: 26 Aug 2003

    Posts: 37,043

    Location: Cheshire

    That was my first custom build motherboard, the GA-7IXE4! With a TNT2 Ultra and a Duron 650.

    What's wrong with it Lewis?
     
  10. cee-S-dee

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Dec 2002

    Posts: 1,557

    Location: The 80's

    I really like that board. 2 ISA slots is a nice plus on a 462 platform. I have one with a Athlon 1200 B CPU at 115mhz. Max CPU it can take is a XP 1500+ Palomino but i've never manage to come across one.
     
  11. LewisRaz

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 3,270

    Location: North Essex

    D4D3 post code, reset light stays on the post card. PC wont react to power button after being turned on.

    All I had time to do so far is:
    Remove ram
    Remove expansion cards
    Clear CMOS

    Same behavior the whole time. Didnt see a great deal of info about these post codes online only that its possible ram count or chipset error. Also the reset being active the whole time is a problem.

    The caps board looks good visually, no obvious damage or blown caps.
     
  12. Kurgen

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Apr 2015

    Posts: 3,552

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

  13. paradigm

    Caporegime

    Joined: 26 Aug 2003

    Posts: 37,043

    Location: Cheshire

    Ended up buying a pair of water-cooled GTX 295s on a whim. Still not got around to finishing the dual socket-604 build so these would go well in there!

    Should be able to run some pretty modern games on what is essentially a P4 :p
     
  14. LewisRaz

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 3,270

    Location: North Essex

    Got a lot of time for the 295. Played many an hour of BF3 operation metro 24/7 on that card. It even killed 2 PSUs! Cant imagine the PSU you need for 2 of them!
     
  15. paradigm

    Caporegime

    Joined: 26 Aug 2003

    Posts: 37,043

    Location: Cheshire

    1000W would be ok, the issue is amperage available on the 12v rail more than the overall wattage. Fortunately I’ve got a beast of a Lenovo workstation PSU that has just shy of 100A available on the 12v rail.
     
  16. LewisRaz

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 3,270

    Location: North Essex

    wow! Yea I was told to look for a PSU with at least 48A on the 12v rail. That was when I learned about PSUs :D

    The 2 that exploded where both by CiT.... and had like 30A total across 2 12v rails. Terrible things.

    My go-to forum back then certainly educated me about PSU quality and proper specs that day.
     
  17. paradigm

    Caporegime

    Joined: 26 Aug 2003

    Posts: 37,043

    Location: Cheshire

    Well that was gutting. The "parcel" arrived with many clear puncture wounds to the box. I hoped that what was within was suitable packaged to the extent that this would be superficial, but beyond the small spattering of bubble wrap to fill the void in the large outer box, there were two "cereal packet" thickness boxes, each containing the bare cards, no foam packaging, not even an anti-static bag.

    Needless to say, one card is totalled, the PCIe edge connector and the SLI connector are both crushed/snapped/contorted beyond repair and likely traces on the inner layers are FUBAR anyway. The other card looks "ok" at a quick glance, though is clearly bent.

    Fired off a message to the seller, which was ignored for over 24 hours, so opened a return case with eBay, which the seller has just responded to with "not my problem mate, take it up with Hermes".
     
  18. LewisRaz

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2016

    Posts: 3,270

    Location: North Essex

    That is terrible!

    Also it is his problem, your deal is with him. He paid hermes not you. Should be easy money back especially with that message being sent.
     
  19. Chris

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 669

    Location: Cardiff

    I think my Voodoo 2 Card died today, started suffering with artifacting while playing some games this afternoon and now is not being recognised by Windows :(
     
  20. almoststew1990

    Soldato

    Joined: 12 May 2011

    Posts: 5,709

    Location: Southampton