Which Hornby Set - Starting a collection for 1 year old

Associate
Happy weekend all - when is Summer starting?

My son is 1 year at the end of the year. I wanted to get something that we can add to as he grows up and will still be interesting for him into his older years.

One idea I have, is to buy the fundamentals of a Hornby train set, then each year we can buy him a Loco or specific track to add to the collection.

However, I am a complete novice and no idea where to start. I think there is different size gauges of track/locos, but would like to go for the one that will be the most common to buy parts and trains for.

Any pointers would help me greatly.

My son is 1 year at the end of the year. I wanted to get something that we can add to as he grows up and will still be interesting for him into his older years.

One idea I have, is to buy the fundamentals of a Hornby train set, then each year we can buy him a Loco or specific track to add to the collection.

However, I am a complete novice and no idea where to start. I think there is different size gauges of track/locos, but would like to go for the one that will be the most common to buy parts and trains for.

00 gauge is Hornby’s standard and by far the most popular gauge. Also called H0 in Europe and the US. You won’t go wrong with that, plenty of starter sets in that gauge

I would say OO gauge is most popular, and Hornby is the leading brand, so I'd go for that. If space for the layout is an issue, I might consider the much smaller N gauge.

I would buy a starter trainset from Hornby:

£159.99

£189.99

There is also the programme Hornby A Model World on TV for more info.

Re gauges see:

To be honest for a 1 year old you are probably better off getting a Thomas the tank engine play set of some kind. Then if he stays interested in trains in general you can explore proper train sets when hes slightly older and can give you a vague idea if which bits interest him for you to focus on.