which thermal paste?

Associate
Joined
22 Jan 2007
Posts
654
Location
rhyl
hi,

just recieved a Xigmatek red scorpion cooler this morning and would like to know which paste i should use,

1, the "heat sink silicone compound" made by "sil more" that came with it.


or

2, some AS5 which i've had for around 18 months, will it still be any good?

cheers.
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Sep 2008
Posts
3,322
Location
Co. Durham
Im not a fan of AS5 like i was when 1st came out i prefer MX-2 or MX-3 if you buying new. If you have had the lid on the AS5 and stored in cool place it should fine. Squeeze out a bit and discared then use as normal willl be fine
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Jun 2004
Posts
6,522
Location
n/east-the toon
AS-5 was king of the hill at one time but its old school now, who wants to wait 200HRs for it to settle in(cure), treat your cooler to soon OCZ extreme, MX-3 to name two. Better temp's no curing needed, overclock straight away.
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Sep 2005
Posts
2,676
I use OCZ Freeze with my Red scorpion. A great combo.

OCZ freeze seems to work better on HDT coolers as I tried it on my other rig with a Hyper 212 and it was not efficient. I slapped on MX-2 and temps were around 5 degrees cooler.
 
Soldato
Joined
5 Sep 2009
Posts
2,578
Location
God's own country
IC diamond 7 works well for me. A few degrees dropped but maybe that could be due to my applying it rather than the thermal paste supplied on my cooler. Just make sure you warm it through before you use it.
Edit: Only a couple of hours for it to cure too.:D
 
Associate
OP
Joined
22 Jan 2007
Posts
654
Location
rhyl
cheers guys,

think i'll try my AS5 first and see what temps it gives.

not fitted it yet though(not had the time), still using my freezer 64 with AS5 which i built last xmas.

according to CPUID hardware monitor my idle temp now is 16c and the fan speed is reporting 305rpm, so i'm expecting the xigmatek to peform better and be quieter.
 
Associate
Joined
5 Mar 2008
Posts
928
Location
Walsall
Mx-3 all the way. I used as5 on my q6600 and stock was 40oC. Used mx3 on my i5 and stock temp was 26oC. It's a lot thicker than as5 but a lot better.
 
Soldato
Joined
20 Feb 2007
Posts
4,393
Location
Staffs, UK.
Mx-3 all the way. I used as5 on my q6600 and stock was 40oC. Used mx3 on my i5 and stock temp was 26oC. It's a lot thicker than as5 but a lot better.

How can you possibly draw any sort of comparison, when you're comparing a 45nm and 65nm chip :p:rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
20 Dec 2006
Posts
3,749
Well I just used 5 yr old tube of AS5 on my new build, now have the Q6700 on 1.45v @ 3.7ghz, 40 degrees idle, i'd say its working ok:)
 
Permabanned
Joined
30 Jun 2009
Posts
433
Location
NI
Since no one else has mentioned this I would
AS5 is conductive

I been using MX-2 for a while , will try MX-3 next time Iam buying
 
Top Bottom