Windows 8 - missing the snipping tool?

Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
8,016
The executable is called "SnippingTool.exe" - so you need to type at lease "snippingtool" into the Run box.

Or, just hit Start/Win+Q and start typing "Snip" and it should show in the Apps list.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Mar 2004
Posts
4,335
Location
Norwich
When I click run and type in snip. It doesnt find the program!

Am I doing something wrong?

Make sure you are on the Metro screen (press Windows Key once from desktop view) and just start typing Snip and it will auto search from the Metro screen.

No need to press anything else as typing from the Metro Screen will auto search any apps.

Should show up fine.
 
Permabanned
Joined
8 Jan 2010
Posts
10,264
Location
UK
I've used it many times in Win 8 and found it easily just by typing in Snip from the Search thing at the top right. Snag IT is better through.
 
Don
Joined
21 Oct 2002
Posts
46,556
Location
Parts Unknown
This tool has always had a bug in it, I've tired reporting it to MS, but I've got no idea how to report a problem and get it looked at..?

When you save a file through this, it saves it as .JPG instead of .jpg

Yes, a tiny bug, but still a bug!
 
Associate
Joined
20 Dec 2010
Posts
2,233
Location
Nottingham, UK
This tool has always had a bug in it, I've tired reporting it to MS, but I've got no idea how to report a problem and get it looked at..?

When you save a file through this, it saves it as .JPG instead of .jpg

Yes, a tiny bug, but still a bug!

Which could be a major headache for Linux users :)
 
Don
Joined
21 Oct 2002
Posts
46,556
Location
Parts Unknown
it's a pain when I upload snips to my webspace and I need to type JPG instead of jpg like you normally would.


How do you report problems to Microsoft?

Another one in Windows 8 only, if you right click in a folder, then press 'R' it brings up Properties.

Now select some files/folders, and you have to press 'O' twice, then enter. Madness?!
 
Soldato
Joined
24 Jan 2007
Posts
14,063
Location
.
it's a pain when I upload snips to my webspace and I need to type JPG instead of jpg like you normally would.


How do you report problems to Microsoft?

Another one in Windows 8 only, if you right click in a folder, then press 'R' it brings up Properties.

Now select some files/folders, and you have to press 'O' twice, then enter. Madness?!
:confused:

you don't have to press 'O' twice, then enter.

just some files/folders then right click on the file then press 'O'... don't right click on the folder
 
Don
Joined
21 Oct 2002
Posts
46,556
Location
Parts Unknown
I think it depends which filetypes you do it on..

properties-a.png


properties-b.png


properties-c.png


See in the 3rd one it's doing it, real pain in the butt when I'm so used to the shortcut key R
 
Top Bottom