• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Working 1333 FSB Mod!

Soldato
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
9,229
Location
Nantwich
Kunaak over at XS has confirmed that the 1333fsb mod for conroes/kents works :D

attachment.php


attachment.php


Original Thread

Hat's off, quite an easy mod as well. :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
9,229
Location
Nantwich
hardc0re_tid said:
is there any benefit in this?

Well if you read the link i posted, he found that he could get a slightly higher overclock on a few chips.

Memory bandwidth goes up as well, so faster overall system.

Some intel boards don't have a native 1333fsb strap when you overclock them, so you are overclocking the northbridge as well, northbridge overclocks are limiting in a few cases. So with a higher fsb strap, the nothbridge isnt as overclocked as much and can open the possibility of reaching a higher oc.

Quite a number of cheapish boards dont let you hit that oc, some dont allow oc, this helps out.

:)
 
Soldato
Joined
4 Nov 2004
Posts
3,040
Location
Norn' Iron'
lay-z-boy said:
Well if you read the link i posted, he found that he could get a slightly higher overclock on a few chips.

Memory bandwidth goes up as well, so faster overall system.

Some intel boards don't have a native 1333fsb strap when you overclock them, so you are overclocking the northbridge as well, northbridge overclocks are limiting in a few cases. So with a higher fsb strap, the nothbridge isnt as overclocked as much and can open the possibility of reaching a higher oc.

Quite a number of cheapish boards dont let you hit that oc, some dont allow oc, this helps out.

:)

i have an asus p5b with a e6300 at 2.8 and my fsb is 1600. is there a danger in this without the 1333 mod?

tried going to 3.15 (450*7) which resulted in jumping up to 1800 fsb, again is there any danger in this?
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
9,229
Location
Nantwich
There is no danger other than any other ganeral danger you have when overclocking. :)

With this mod you could relive some electrical stress from both the nb and the cpu which in turn, could allow for higher oc and a faster 'stock'
 
Soldato
Joined
27 Oct 2005
Posts
13,702
Location
Netherlands
hardc0re_tid said:
i have an asus p5b with a e6300 at 2.8 and my fsb is 1600. is there a danger in this without the 1333 mod?

tried going to 3.15 (450*7) which resulted in jumping up to 1800 fsb, again is there any danger in this?


Danger, not really i wouldnt be worried if temps are okay and if you are below 3.8 ghz for it....




Hmmm wont the mainboard be confused with this mod tho? How will overcloking be after modding the cpu?
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
9,229
Location
Nantwich
snowdog said:
Danger, not really i wouldnt be worried if temps are okay and if you are below 3.8 ghz for it....




Hmmm wont the mainboard be confused with this mod tho? How will overcloking be after modding the cpu?

If the mainboard supports 1333fsb, after the mod, the bios/cpu defaults will be exactly the same bar the stock fsb will now be 1333 instead of 1066.

overclocking seems to be slightly improved, stability also in a few cases.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
9,229
Location
Nantwich
GAMEfreak said:
does this work on E6300's too? and what exactly do you do 0_O, that pic aint clear. do i connect the pins using a graphite pencil? or?

Kunaak over at XS has confirmed that the 1333fsb mod for conroes/kents works

6300 is a castrated conroe so it will work.

Check the link as it contains many more pictures. :)
 
Associate
Joined
4 Jan 2007
Posts
141
Location
Pennines
cokecan72 said:
reminds me of the L12 mod in the sockat A days :) ...

Ah yeah, me too, brings a tear to me eyes so it does...any o' you youngsters remember the Thunderbird - imho started the competitive race that now gives us quad-cores and beyond.

rock-on AMD
 
Suspended
Joined
23 Oct 2003
Posts
580
Location
Cambridge
Linz said:
Ah yeah, me too, brings a tear to me eyes so it does...any o' you youngsters remember the Thunderbird - imho started the competitive race that now gives us quad-cores and beyond.

rock-on AMD

i had a 1.33ghz @ 1.5ghz 10x150mhz (SDR Model) aahhh the good old days, unlocked multiplyer with the pencil trick :D , i might do this with my conroe to see if i can get higher clock :D
 
Caporegime
Joined
24 Dec 2005
Posts
40,065
Location
Autonomy
Auction sites.

Im so trying this on a E4300 heres how: :D

This will mean 9x 266 meaning 2.7ghz on a 35 quid ASROCK!


attachment.php


E4300 ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^Method
 
Last edited:
Back
Top Bottom