1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X79 Overclocking Guide

Discussion in 'Ask 8 Pack' started by 8 Pack, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. Geeman1979

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 14, 2011

    Posts: 7,490

    A good read and very easy to follow.
     
  2. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,244

    Location: United Kingdom

    What does clock gen filter do? When i used it previously at lower clocks it seemed to lower my core clock speed under load. In the bios it says it will help reach a max overclock, but I've always kept it disabled because of the issue i mentioned.
     
  3. crasher

    Associate

    Joined: May 1, 2014

    Posts: 21

    Managed to get 2000mhz stable on 125 strap 8pack but my vccsa is at 1.90v timings are 9-11-10-24 2T tried 1T n it failed would like to know how to get 4.4ghz on CPU using 125 strap ATM its at 4ghz and Turbo mode is disabled so I was hoping windows would see 4ghz but it never CPU z sees it.reason I mentioned this is on a non cap BIOS there was a feature to allow non Turbo frequancy to say 4ghz on CPU and if I tweaked the bclk a bit it would show the said speed in windows info.I'd like 2000mhz ram and 4.4ghz CPU but I don't know how to configure it so Turbo mode ends up disabled like I said it disables at 4ghz and 2000mhz ram ram volts ATM are 1.665v like you said to try ATM all is good just need your help to also see if I can squeeze more out of ram speed cheers 8pack Crasher
     
  4. crasher

    Associate

    Joined: May 1, 2014

    Posts: 21

    Hi 8pack right I'm at 1966mhz @9-11-10-21(Samsung ic? Tras21)1.665v on dimms with 1404.rom bios on BIOS chip 2.vcssa @ 1.130v(testing now memtest )was at 1.85v passing each time I've dropped it lower. Turbo disabled Ht off.CPU bclk at 122.875 strap at 125 passing memtest no problems and super pi also Intel burn test on standard and high 16 runs time premium due to kids LOL now heres the kicker I input all my settings on to bios chip 1 which is running 4901.cap latest BIOS and low an behold it fails memtest but stable again on BIOS chip 2(confused.com )now here's another kicker when memtest starts with multi thread enabled F2 option it fails within 2 mins of starting I'm stable in windows at moment.so dunno what's going on oh in system properties CPU is at 3.93ghz. As I said in another post some reason a non cap BIOS allows for windows to see CPU oc and also if I set CL to 8 system boots but loses 16384mb of ram out of 32gb on my R4e and I'm also seem to get memory related errors like cmd.exe has failed to start when I shutdown system hope this makes sense 8pack. Get bk to me as soon as u can mate really need some tips Crasher
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2014
  5. crasher

    Associate

    Joined: May 1, 2014

    Posts: 21

    Also had 4 beeps at save and exit on BIOS 1404.rom 8pack so after it booted I loaded a saved 1966mhz ram profile and all is good again tbh think I'm gonna give up with ram ocing and just try to tighten/optimize timing on stock 1866mhz cus no one getting back to me yet so ill stay stock until you get back to me with some ideas and settings to try mate crasher
     
  6. Idleman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 14, 2011

    Posts: 12,260

    Location: Newark

    Just had a play around with my 3930K, got it running 4.6 with 1.34v and temps in the mid 60s with a H100i. Can't seem to get the voltages down any further. Is this a decent chip. Might have a go later at 4.8 .
     
  7. BS Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2004

    Posts: 2,500

    Location: London

    Very good I would say. Where are you getting the 1.34 from? Mine says something similar in CPU-z but because of the dynamic vid in offset mode I'm actually at 1.43 in the bios.
     
  8. Idleman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 14, 2011

    Posts: 12,260

    Location: Newark

    Yes, using Cpuz for the voltage reading. But if I go into the bios, my reading is 1.18v, which is round about my idle speed not full load.
     
  9. BS Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2004

    Posts: 2,500

    Location: London

    i'll have a look for you tonight idleman, so what i can dig out - what speed memory are you running?
     
  10. Idleman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 14, 2011

    Posts: 12,260

    Location: Newark

    Corsair Vengeance LP 1600C9, just have them running in XMP. The board I'm using is the Asus Pro.
     
  11. Vidar

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 18, 2008

    Posts: 3,481

    Location: Liverpool

    Hi guys, I'm a complete noob to overclocking and have absolutely no idea what I'm doing but want to give my CPU a stable overclock.

    I'm using a 3930k on an ASUS x79 Sabertooth board with Samsung Green 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C11 1600MHz 30nm Dual Channel Kit. Is there a list of recommended settings for me(or a complete idiots guide to overclocking) to change or should I just try and match the settings in the OP?
     
  12. Sonic_AFB

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 30, 2014

    Posts: 6

    Hi all! after 4 years of silence i'm going to talk about this old platform, i'm user of a 4930k and Gigabyte X79-UD3 with 12 Gb of Ram

    Yesterday, trying to cross 4.4 Ghz barrier searching info i found a youtube video about overclock on X79, in that video modify vcore (obvious) VTT, PLL and VCCSA(IMC on gigaybe), that three last voltages i don't up too much afraid to broken the cpu, but i copied his settings.

    And i manage to boot in windows and doing various benchs at 4.5 Ghz at 1.308v, Ram at 2133 11-11-11-34-2t, PLL 1.865v, VTT 1.165v VCCSA/IMC 1.05v, then i tried 4.6 ghz with same vcore, booting windows OK, cinebench OK, cpu-z OK, some minutes of prime OK, but when i restart all stability gone, freezes in blue reboot screen, very difficult to have video and enter BIOS, when i have video and enter windows again all is working fine, but at restart all is gone, at 4.5 Ghz is always perfect, but at 4.6 Ghz no, i tried with vcore at 1.38v, nothing, downclock ram to 1333, nothing, VTT 1.25v and VCCSA/IMC 1.15v nothing, i don't know how can i try to get the 4.6 ghz oc stable.

    Before yesterday 4.4 Ghz at 1.30v was my max OC, 4.5 Ghz even with 1.45v was 100% unstable

    I have custom water loop, max temp around 52-56ยบ that isn't problem

    Any idea?

    Regards

    Sorry if something is writen bad or strange, i'm spanish :)
     
  13. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 59,092

    I have the 1.1 revision of that board and TBH there are a few little issues in getting it stable with certain frequencies - it doesn't like my RAM at 2400MHz at all (seems to be some firmware bug not just my IMC struggling) and some combinations of settings just seem unstable whatever.

    Also possible your CPU has hit a wall - most go upto a certain point OK then are progressively harder to get even a tiny bit more out of them.
     
  14. Sonic_AFB

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 30, 2014

    Posts: 6

    Maybe the wall is 4.5 Ghz, but is strange, when boot up it run perfect at 4.6 Ghz, but at restart bye all stability... between 4.5 and 4.6 the only change is the turbo cpu multiplier, 45 to 46, maybe should i try without turbo? or fixed vcore instead offset?my MB is rev 1.1 too and F16 bios

    EDIT: for now 4.4 Ghz at only 1.18v, in next days i will try higher oc
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2018
  15. zx128k

    Gangster

    Joined: May 9, 2007

    Posts: 177

    Microcode 0x42c and 0x42d braking overclock's? 4930k microcode 0x42d is from this modded bios https://rog.asus.com/forum/printthread.php?t=72562&pp=10&page=1 Windows 10 WHQL RIVBE driver pack

    Updated BIOS with:
    (Meltdown and Spectre mitigation updates)
    -CPU Microcode 0306E4 IVB-E - 42D
    -CPU Microcode 0206D7 SNB-E - 714
    -CPU Microcode 0206D6 SNB-E - 61D

    -Updated NVMe BIOS driver

    See bottom of page 10 for 4930k
    https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/public/us/en/documents/sa00115-microcode-update-guidance.pdf
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2019
  16. zx128k

    Gangster

    Joined: May 9, 2007

    Posts: 177

    @sonic AFB Whats your CPU voltage frequency. 4.5Ghz I can get 8k FFT stable at very low vcore but 4096K FFT takes lots of vcore to be stable. It could be that you are unstable at your settings. 4.4Ghz at vcore 1.18volts is a lot better than mine.