Watercooling a Sugo SG05...

Soldato
Sort of.

I've recently got one of these - Corsair H50. Which i've managed to fit where the 120mm fan goes, and it seems to work ok:O

The only modding I had to do was drill the 120mm holes about 10mm lower, allowing me to screw the rad in without it interfering with the HDD caddy. (tho it's mounted sideways and I only have a 2.5" HDD, I think if you had a 3.5 HDD in you'd have more trouble).

The reason i'm posting is to show off slightly (this is my first attempt at watercooling) and to ask a couple of questions. Should the pump be totally silent? As I do have a slight mechanical 'clicking' sound. And is the rad okay on it's side?

Soldato
I doubt anyone will help until you at least post some pics! :p

The mechanical clicking I believe is air in the system, although i'm not sure how to cure it as i'm no watercooling expert.

Anyway... PICS.

Soldato
OP
Thanks for that, will post some pics tonight:D

It's a closed system so if it has got air in it, I suppose i'd have to send it back to OCUK/Corsair?

Soldato
OP
Got some pics, taken off a blackberry so not great...

IMG00089-20090911-1917.jpg

IMG00090-20090911-1917-1.jpg

It's still fairly quiet, but that ticking noise is annoying me, only because it's now louder than it was on air...

Also had a go at overclocking on the board, managed 3.6ish, went for 4ghz but then the woman wanted to watch a film so shall have to try again tomorrow.

And yes, the case is a mess, but cable management just doesn't happen in this case, it was better before honest!

Associate
Having exactly the same issue here with my H50 that I got setup today. Posted on some other forums to see if its normal but I think may be faulty. Sounds like the noise a hard drive makes when accessing data.

Soldato
OP
Yeah that's the noise, it's a real shame because it's such a tidy piece of kit.

If I find a solution other than replacement I'll post it here.

Soldato