Anyone went 1440p/4k and is unimpressed?

Associate
When 1080p first hit the scene, the wise money kept away from it. If you look at the earlier 1080p monitors or TVs from the mid 2000s, you will know that they absolutely suck by today's standards and if you bought one back then, you will know how extortionately expensive they were compared with modern day high end panels. Same thing will apply to 4K without a shadow of a doubt.

I know what you mean, but the answer isn't always to just hang on and wait.

I bought a 4K monitor at c. £380, and I've been using it every single day for about 8 months now. Mainly for desktop work, although the gaming side of it is very enjoyable as well.

Admittedly it's not perfect, and I'm sure in a few months it will be possible to get IPS and G-Sync for the same price, and later on probably 120 Hz as well, but at the same time I'll have been using it for a year.

Soldato
Last edited:
Caporegime
i agree and all, but you forget, if it weren't for these "OCD types" that plow money into every new tech/venture, we wouldn't get every new tech/venture , as its that initial money that's been plowed into whatever new tech it may be, that funds the rest of its development , which makes it cheaper for the rest of us.

Uhh no, we are naught but market share, real profit comes from medium to low range, funnily enough.

Small yield, high priced items are simply PR.

Permabanned
Uhh no, we are naught but market share, real profit comes from medium to low range, funnily enough.

And without you types buying their PR we would not have the rest, so he is still right even if he came at it from the right direction, world needs idiots to buy the inflated crap, talk a lot about it so the rest can buy the sensible stuff!!

Associate