2016 Chilli Growers Thread

Soldato
My £1.80 pack of Wilko chillie's are doing well - No idea what they are.

412657124.jpg

412657123.jpg

412657122.jpg

Soldato
DXP55, they look a little like cayennes, but I'm no expert. Could be wrong. They look a bit like my cayennes tho :)

Super jealous of valve90210's prolific bonnet plant though :D
Mine at home aren't doing great, but the one I have at work seems to be doing very well. Currently got about 9 on it and I hope for more !!

2houys9.jpg

Soldato
They look like some sort of Cayenne type chilli to me as well. As you have quite a few it might be worth drying a bunch out and making chilli flakes with them. Ideal for sprinkling into anything and everything to add a bit of chilli kick.

Soldato
I usually chop them up -put them in jam jar or coffee jar - add loads of spices etc - fill jar with vinegar and leave for a few months shaking jar now and again then blitz it all up and put in clean jar and use it as chilli paste.

Might just bite into one tomorrow and see. :eek:

Soldato
Aphids.

First time for everything. So considering using some ladybirds bought through the post - basically buy a pack and then release a couple inside and then the rest around the garden.

Soldato
Apparently if you plant marigolds they will naturally attract ladybirds to your garden. Or if you buy ladybird larvae the marigolds might aid in keeping them around.

I tried all sorts, including soapy water but nothing seemed to work. Blasting them off the plant with a spray bottle set on the stream setting seemed to work, but is a lot of work if you have a load of plants. I'll be interested to know if the ladybirds do the trick and stick around.

Soldato
Seems that getting them mail order can be difficult if they're harvested but at the same time.. things like the bug house etc are good but from experience attract as many spiders as bugs (mine has a couple of parasitic wasps in at the moment and had a solitary bee last year).