Complete and absolute novice

Man of Honour
So I'm almost sure I'm going to be getting a bike in the next few weeks. I sat on one for the first time ever today but have wanted one for years. I've got a pre-CBT booked for next week with a provisional CBT booking for the week after and went to look around today scouted out the 125s the local garages (Craig's cycles and Padgetts) had in.

I looked at a KTM but wasn't that keen. Looked at a Yamaha race type bike and wasn't too keen on that either, I want to be a bit higher up than that to see what's going on around me but I don't like crosser type bikes. That led me to a Yamaha MT-125. This fit me like a glove, it's a weighty bike but felt planted (only sat on it, but the smaller ones felt a bit too lightweight).

It's mostly going to be used for commuting. Is there a reason I shouldn't buy it? The offer is £4.1k on a 0% deal that doesn't have penalties for early repayments. Seems like a good deal to me, I wouldn't want to buy second-hand really as I've no idea how to maintain them.

Any hints, tips and assistance appreciated :)

Caporegime
Immediate thoughts are

- What the hell's a 'pre-CBT'? The CBT is so laughably easy that it's a waste of time. Just book a CBT with somewhere that guarantees free retakes if you're worried that you're incapable of getting sign off. On the other hand if it's a free taster, then why not.

- Spending £4k on a 125 that you'll probably decide is too slow for you after approximately 5 minutes usage, is possibly a decision you'd regret. I spent £1k less than this on a two year old faired SV650S in excellent condition.

- You strike me as quite old (mid 30s?) so under the massive assumption that you have some money, I'd recommend you get booked onto a DAS course and skip the 125 purchase. Subject to your normal commuting conditions.

- Motorbikes are a fantastic and fun way to get to work. Whatever you decide, have fun and good luck!

Last edited:
Soldato