Road Cycling

Soldato
Average power will include coast time, normalised power will ignore coast time and do other data tricks... I think (I'm also new to power meters)!

cricklesorg.wordpress.com is free and will give you useful info including FTP based on 95% of your best 20mins.

power-meter.cc/home is free, linked it to Strava this week, power specific info and seems good so far.

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/...strava/dhiaggccakkgdfcadnklkbljcgicpckn?hl=en is a free plugin for Google Chrome on Windows Strava site, lots of info about rides including power.

Associate
Soldato
Average power will include coast time, normalised power will ignore coast time and do other data tricks... I think (I'm also new to power meters)!

cricklesorg.wordpress.com is free and will give you useful info including FTP based on 95% of your best 20mins.

power-meter.cc/home is free, linked it to Strava this week, power specific info and seems good so far.

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/...strava/dhiaggccakkgdfcadnklkbljcgicpckn?hl=en is a free plugin for Google Chrome on Windows Strava site, lots of info about rides including power.

Thank you, just had a quick look at the STRAVA add-on, looks interesting :)
Garmin Connect has given me an approximation of my best 20 min avg... Which seems low given it thinks my VO2 max 58 (Superior)
I will certainly do some tests

Ramp test, is a more efficient way to estimate your Threshold. TrainerRoad have moved from the 20min/8min FTP test to this recently and changed it within all their plans.

http://blog.trainerroad.com/new-ramp-test-makes-ftp-testing-more-efficient-and-less-stressful/

I have done 3 minute ramp tests... Failed at 350w, x0.75 =262w... Way beyond what my blood lactates dictate as threshold ( 235w)
I will try a 1 minute ramp test just out of curiosity, I'd expect a result way north of 350w though TBH which throws my FTP way out?

Soldato
This is absolutely shameful. Wait for it...