• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

The Radeon VII Owners Thread

Associate
Hi guys, I was hoping some of you might know what to do.
I recently installed a water block on my Radeon VII. After installing it, I started playing with power mods and such.
After applying a power mod of 1300mv to the core, I have had extreme stability issues at stock settings ever since. I have even tried reinstalling Windows and also attempted running benchmarks in Linux.
Right now the only stable setting for my card seems to be 1750mhz@1125mv (which is crazy high voltage).
Have I fried my card with too much voltage? Is there anything I can do?

I appreciate any help regarding this stupid mistake of mine..

Anything over 1.22 isn't wise for every day, 1.25 you're really playing with fire. 1.30 ... it simply isn't designed for that. You might get lucky and have one that stands it for a while ... some might brick on first stress test. For a lot of cards that's likely a suicide run ... probably most of them.

You're lucky it's working at all IMO.

Associate
Hasn't Radeon VII production finished already? Unlikely to be any new blocks if that's the case.
I heard yes

If it is, that likely means we see big Navi in late Q3 or very early Q4 this year.

I've said before, but I'm really sceptical they'll do that so early if it's going to be on TSMC 7nm. Navi 10 will dilute demand for the VII anyway, so there may be enough dies for VII now just from the Instinct rejects / excess chips, or with little extra.