How do folk with slow 'net download modern games?

Soldato
With physical media all but obsolete, how do those with slow (sub 8mbit/s say) cope with downloading tens of GB?

Can the installer be downloaded to a USB drive at your mates house and taken home?

Soldato
depends on th installer i.e. steam / origin / epic games store ect..
but also depends what you call slow.
if on unlimited data then download over night(s)

i have a master steam disk i update ever so often and then "backup" and "restore the games i want.

Soldato
Steam allows you to download the game and "backup" to cd/dvd.

When I used to live at home, my folks had broadband that used to be around 2mbps download. So I used to download the games on steam when I was staying at the GFs. And then I could "restore" them when I get home and not have to worry about having to download tens of Gb.

Soldato
Bane of my life. Thanks to a **** up by Openreach, which they won't admit to, I'm stuck with a ****** 1MB/s ADSL2+ line and no access to fibre of any flavour, and to really rub it in all the surrounding streets can get fibre. My mate lives around the corner from me, and he enjoys speeds I can only dream of.

Soldato
With physical media all but obsolete, how do those with slow (sub 8mbit/s say) cope with downloading tens of GB?

It's hard to have internet that slow with the 4G coverage being so good these days, unless you are in a black spot for every network, and unlimited data tariffs costing less than some BB connections. I guess maybe a lot of people just don't even think about 4G though, as it is slightly outside of the box thinking.

Associate
It's hard to have internet that slow with the 4G coverage being so good these days, unless you are in a black spot for every network, and unlimited data tariffs costing less than some BB connections. I guess maybe a lot of people just don't even think about 4G though, as it is slightly outside of the box thinking.