Help an OSX noob 'learn the ropes' (potential OSX sticky ideas)

Man of Honour
Just picked up a new Dual Core Mac Mini, but it's still in it's box begging to be unleashed. :eek:

While I'm no Linux novice (had a Gentoo box running for 2½ years almost 24/7/365 and never had a single brown trouser moment), my most recent Mac experience was a Macintosh LC (circa 1992), so I'm just a bit behind the times. :eek: :D

So, what tips, tricks, free software, etc. do you know? Anything goes so long as it's legal and within the forum rules. No matter how obvious you may think it is, it may not be obvious to me. :)

PS - if there is enough quality content, I can probably be coaxed into making this into a sticky. :)

this could be very useful for me too, im thinking of picking up a new macbook pro :) last time i used a mac was about the same time too crazy

Ummm, let's see. I find window-ordering keyboard shortcuts to be very useful. Press F9 to tile all the open windows across the screen. Press F10 to tile all the open windows from the current program across the screen. Press F11 to hide all windows beyond the outer edges of the screen. F12 does something but I'm knackered to remember what it is at this moment. I think it pulls up the dashboard which contains a calendar, clock and calculator.

It's really just a matter of exploring the operating system. You'll find it chock full of thoughtful details.

Installing apps:
Most apps will come inside a .dmg file. Download this and double-click on it- It will mount as a new drive on the desktop. Open this drive, and drag the file inside it into the applications folder, UNLESS it is a .pkg file, in which case it needs to be double-clicked on.

Unmounting Drives:
The drive will be present as an icon on the desktop. Drag it to the trash to unmount it and allow it to eject.

Another OSX n00b here :p - The two things that confused me the most. (Linux addict though, so as a *NIX based system its feels much better than Windows.

-Leezer-