Is it possible to self-learn web development from scratch?

Soldato
Apologies if the thread title is a bit vague but the fact is i dont know what i'm talking about.

My situation at the moment is that i'm 30 years old and unemployed with few prospects. To complicate things i suffer from Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (a.k.a M.E) and am only able to work non-physical jobs part-time (4-5 hours per day).

Since i have found it impossible to find work (not much part-time admin type roles going and i have no experience) i have been looking in to learn a skill to see if i can forge a career from it. I've always had a interest in computing (got my first PC 18 years ago) but never learnt a specific skill such as programming or networking and the like.

During my daily job searching i see a lot of adverts for PHP and ASP.NET developers and decided to look into them and see whats what. I came across this website that appears to offer pretty decent tutorials with a view to you paying money to earn a certificate.

All i really want to know from you guys is am i barking up the wrong tree? Can someone with absolutely no knowledge of even basic programming or web design/development teach themselves enough to actually get a job? Also, is part-time work for this sort of thing even available?

If anyone can offer any assistance i'd be really grateful. Having turned 30 i'm starting to really worry for my future due to my limitations and the current job climate.

Thanks

All i really want to know from you guys is am i barking up the wrong tree? Can someone with absolutely no knowledge of even basic programming or web design/development teach themselves enough to actually get a job?

Sure you can. Employers don't really care if you have a degree or not in this field, that's coming from someone with a CS degree, you just need to show you can produce high quality work. If you have a cracking portfolio then you have a good shot.