• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

980Ti Load temps

Associate
I recently bought the MSI 980Ti Gaming and I've been extremely happy with it. What temperature should it be running at under full load?

I had Far Cry 3 running on ultra last night and it was a steady 75C. I know that on the MSI Gaming cards the fans don't kick in until it reaches 60C. The card was at 75C and the fan was at 66%. I'm assuming that the fan would have ramped up to 100% if it needed any further cooling?

I'm not that familiar with the Maxwell chips, since I've been running a 7950 for the last 2 years. Any advice/reassurance would be helpful!

Soldato
My G1 maxes out around 70-75c but I have set a custom fan profile to keep noise down so fans are only running 55% at that temp.
75c is fine though, if your really worried manually set the fans to a higher speed.

Last edited:
Associate
I set the fans on my MSI 980Ti to 80% and temps generally stay below 60C unless I'm playing a graphically intense game such as The Witcher 3 then it normally creeps up to the mid 60's.

Soldato
Set the fan higher in MSI if your running an overclock, starting in the low 60's the card down volts every 10c resulting in reduced clocks.

To avoid any thermal throttling you should aim to keep it in the very low 60's is you can.

Associate
I found with my 980ti, the thing that ups the temps most, by far is 4k. Even with older titles. I'm talking a big difference between 1080p and 4k temp wise, for obvious reasons, using the extra horses etc.