1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ASUS VEGA 64 Strix *Improve VRM temps fix*

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Boomstick777, Sep 12, 2018.

  1. KillBoY_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 20, 2004

    Posts: 3,719

    Location: Oxford

    They just need to clone Louis Rossman
     
  2. andybird123

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 30, 2011

    Posts: 10,295

    UK law says they don't have to warranty an item that has been "modified" by the customer. So a sticker might not be enough but swapping a thermal pad is still a mod.

    Having said that i think Asus do allow cooler removal so they might not even care that you've replaced the pads as long as you havent mashed anything else in the process.
     
  3. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 14,465

    do this with all my cards and boards, but lucky enough to have 17w/mk pads from alphacool at £70 a strip...

    asus 2mm is fine, you can see slight indentation which is just fine , the thicker the pad the worse the thermal transfer is between the heat source and the heatsink cooling it - did the same for my 1070 strix under waterblock with their paste and managed 2.2ghz on the core :D

    i think stock pads at max 2w/mk by default , going up by double the w/mk transfer the price quadruples
     
  4. Journey

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,397

    Location: West Midlands

    The Panasonic EYGT7070A30A - Thermal Pad (Graphite Sheet) 70 mm x 70 mm x 3 mm, 13 W/m.K is much better value, at around £25-40 (per sheet) if you plan on doing a few cards. I've used quite a lot of it, and it does come in other sizes, much cheaper than buying from computer shops etc.
     
  5. Panos

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 9,437

    Location: NE Lincolnshire

    70x70x3 is almost £50 per sheet in UK, compared to Thermal Grizzly 100x100x2 for £23.
    One is 490mm2 and the other is 1000mm2, twice as much.
     
  6. Figo

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 19, 2016

    Posts: 164

    Location: Jensen's Leather Jacket



    For anyone interested in the drop in temps I've seen there are some graphs in there.
     
  7. Boomstick777

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 2, 2012

    Posts: 10,986

    Location: UK.

    Nice find.
     
  8. Nelly

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 19, 2003

    Posts: 6,906

    Location: Grimsby, UK

    So once the VRM fix is applied, undervolt is applied, what is the maximum core clock you can get with the Asus VEGA 64 ROG STRIX OC? Is it still less than the Powercolor / Sapphire Nitro+ VEGA cards?
     
  9. JamesM

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,474

    Location: Sutton Coldfield

    I've done the above, any info on the undervolt and i'll have a play.
     
  10. Nelly

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 19, 2003

    Posts: 6,906

    Location: Grimsby, UK

    In his previous video he explains what he changed in Wattman to undervolt >> https://youtu.be/N-GCUv1p_sU?t=574



    I asked the person who did the YouTube video earlier in the comments, he said that the VRM Temp FIX video also includes undervolting. I snipped part of the video showing the clocks info.

    Seems to be between 1575MHz to 1590MHz roughly.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 19,431

    Location: London

    This worth doing for a V56?
     
  12. Ad_Augendae

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 24, 2018

    Posts: 172

    I have an Asus GTX 1080-A8G and could see a gap between the fets and thermal strip. Instead of breaking the card down, I just wrapped some fishing wire around the heatsink and tied it to the top of the case closing the gap. Seems like A flaw of some kind to me. just to note , we also have an Asus GTX 1060 OC which doesn't seem to have the same problem. I did try to tighten all the screws I could get too but they all seemed to be tight.
    The Mind Boggles!
     
  13. Nelly

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 19, 2003

    Posts: 6,906

    Location: Grimsby, UK

    According to someone who commented a week ago on the Asus Strix Vega 64 - VRM Temperature FIX YouTube video:
    Might be worth asking in the VEGA 56 Owners thread >> https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/threads/the-rx-vega-56-owners-thread.18789712/page-74
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2018
  14. GothicGhost

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 23, 2007

    Posts: 2,426

    I'm looking to buy the Asus vega 64. So the issue been fix now on new stock?
    I mean the stock in ocuk.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2018
  15. JamesM

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,474

    Location: Sutton Coldfield

    Perfect thank you.

    No overclock applied and undervolted, I'm boosting to 1600 in game, 67 degrees GPU, 80 HBM and 61 VRM.
     
  16. GothicGhost

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 23, 2007

    Posts: 2,426

    I sent a msg to ocuk about the card heat problem and if they had the fixed version.

    The reply.

    Hi there, all the information I can go off at the moment is that out of the total large amount of cards we have sold of this model we have only received 5 back as faulty so I can only assume there is no issues with the stock we have.


    To be fair I did a search myself and could not find any information about it.
     
  17. Figo

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 19, 2016

    Posts: 164

    Location: Jensen's Leather Jacket

    Also got to remember that some will achieve better clock speeds than others, some run cooler than others etc etc. Only thing I was concerned about when making that video was getting the best out of what I had.

    It does boost higher under other loads, for example when rendering out videos the gpu core clock speed is reported as nearly 1,700MHz so go figure :rolleyes:
     
  18. GothicGhost

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 23, 2007

    Posts: 2,426

    So, is the Asus card worth buying if you don't want to mod it and just play?
    I got over £400 sitting in my account waitng I would love to spend it. hopefully before the wife thinks she can use it for other crap in the house :rolleyes::(:D
     
  19. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 3,640

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    If you just want to slap it in and get gaming then I wouldn't bother with the Asus Tax and get a Powercolor or Sapphire. They're better AMD partners anyway.
     
  20. UnTouchablenatr

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 25, 2018

    Posts: 1