Best way to learn maths required for game development?

Soldato
I've been programming for several years but what has always held me back was my poor ability when it comes to maths. I've decided that I am going to break through the pain barrier and learn the maths required to make games. The only trouble is that I have no idea where to start as I haven't done any practical maths since I was in school.

Would starting from GCSE revision guides be a good start? I'm quite keen to keep the learning fun as I don't want to get put off.

Are there any websites which allow you to solve maths problems on them for practice? I'm quite a hands-on learner and would be appreciated being able to practice on my laptop (no desk at the moment, unfortunately, so I can't do much handwriting).

Man of Honour
Depending on what you actually want to do games wise the maths is quite varied - if you want to get into engine dev it is almost a bottomless pit but if you work on top of an engine either using something like the Unreal Engine or Godot or a toolkit that implements the fundamentals then the main thing you'll need is an understanding of trigonometry and vectors (mostly for things like distance calculations and rotation).

My maths is pretty poor and I get by - lots and lots of modding and once wrote a DX7 based game engine from scratch.

EDIT: I would say don't just start learning general maths - start with brushing up on things like trig and vectors and work backwards from there filling out as you need - I'd highly recommend grabbing a copy of an older game that has full source code like Quake 2/3 or Doom 3, etc. and doing some simple modding and going from there to understand what you need to know.

Last edited:
Man of Honour