BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Soldato
Joined
9 Apr 2007
Posts
11,826
I think it's disgusting having anything more than 12 month contracts for anything except a house and a car.
I can see the point for mobile phones as you have to pay off a much more expensive phone.

But yeah not on for broadband. I see you have to send the router back now as well or they charge you for it. A lot seems to have changed in 2 or so years.
 
Caporegime
Joined
9 Aug 2008
Posts
30,725
Location
127.0.0.1
I can see the point for mobile phones as you have to pay off a much more expensive phone.

But yeah not on for broadband. I see you have to send the router back now as well or they charge you for it. A lot seems to have changed in 2 or so years.

I also hate the prices increases I really don't think they should be allowed to change a contract mid way.
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Jul 2010
Posts
22,766
I can see the point for mobile phones as you have to pay off a much more expensive phone.

But yeah not on for broadband. I see you have to send the router back now as well or they charge you for it. A lot seems to have changed in 2 or so years.
Routers are no longer £30 items that ISP’s throwaway, they’re £100+ items that should be reused, not to mention the E-Waste. Also very few ISP’s charge significant setup costs despite sometimes the cost being over £100. That needs clawed back as well as keeping prices competitive. With some of the deals out there some ISP’s are only making £5 per month or so over cost from Openreach.
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Apr 2007
Posts
11,826
Routers are no longer £30 items that ISP’s throwaway, they’re £100+ items that should be reused, not to mention the E-Waste. Also very few ISP’s charge significant setup costs despite sometimes the cost being over £100. That needs clawed back as well as keeping prices competitive. With some of the deals out there some ISP’s are only making £5 per month or so over cost from Openreach.
If that's the case why is there not an option to reuse your own router? Sure the BT one would work with Sky.
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Jul 2010
Posts
22,766
If that's the case why is there not an option to reuse your own router? Sure the BT one would work with Sky.
Support limitations and not being privy to updates and new releases between ISP's. I know Sky used to limit non-sky routers purely from support and security standpoints. Sky knew who had what router by Mac address and used to limit or stop connections using the Mac addresses. Until some got wise and realised if you had another Sky Router you could swap it and get back online. Now the overall connection is limited.
 
Associate
Joined
12 Apr 2012
Posts
101
You can check if it's in Phase 1 or Phase 2, but that's about it, the rest you just have to speculate on by watching roadworks progress on bidb.uk.
https://cf-mapping.s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/maps/deployment.html
thanks I'm aware of that Map, but like i mention its not a local progress indicator. I mean its nice for an overview . But i believe once they start work in a city / town they should have a link to their website that you can track the progress of the deployment or a CityFibre rep that you could ping a msg to. O well just have to wait it out, My guess is they've started work in the far end of the town and should take them 8 to 12 months. So next year i can stick two fingers to virginMedia and their high latency net & crappy hub
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
4,106
Location
Nottingham
My BT contract is ending this month. Unless they can match £35 a month for 500Mb I'll be moving.

Talk Talk do 500Mb for £39 a month and it comes with a Amazon eero Pro 6 mesh router, are they any good ?

Other option is Vodaphone for 500Mb at £35 a month with what looks like a standard baisc router.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
24,919
TalkTalk are good because not having to use PPPoE opens up a lot more possibilities to get routers that will run at line speed. On the downside they don't do IPv6 yet, but neither do Vodafone.
 
Associate
Joined
15 Mar 2008
Posts
1,873
Anyone in here with sky for FTTP what's the router like?
Perfectly fine IMO. I don’t game though but I do work from home and only had one outage to do with DNS, which is really a Sky service problem than the router itself. Did have a small issue with one device that would disconnect for no reason but after I moved everything to static IPs it hasn’t happened again.

I did toy with the idea of getting another router but unsure it’s worth it for my needs really.
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Mar 2004
Posts
11,039
Location
Fareham
I know this is the BT thread, but this is an interesting development in any case.

Toob are in build state in my area, so it looks like I could get 900mb up and down soon for £25/month, which is about half what I currently pay.

They're one of those fibre operators a bit like city fibre etc.

Depending on timeframes it may be cheaper for me to cut my ties with BT early. I don't see how BT can compete with this kind of pricing. Eventually OR may need to cut the price of the full fibre products.
 
Top Bottom