BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

RSR

RSR

Soldato
Joined
17 Aug 2006
Posts
9,155
Those numbers would be a dream. Have you been GEA migrated at all?

Isn't the UDM running some form of Linux? Have you tried to cron it?
I looked at that but it would get wiped out on reboot or network config change.

I did see someone has a script on the Ubiquiti Community has put something on their Github about it.

 
Last edited:

RSR

RSR

Soldato
Joined
17 Aug 2006
Posts
9,155
Hmm, Untangle not booting fully after making that change.

I have a dedicated NIC for the PPPoE straight to the ONT / DSL Modem from my VMware ESXi host, otherwise if you run PPPoE over the network (VLAN) you will need to adjust the MTU on that. The good thing with having it in a testing VM environment, you can snap it to easily roll it back.

The only change in the cat /etc/ppp/peers/dsl-provider is changing the MTU from 1492 to 1500, the interface to 1508 which allows for increased MTU (Mini Jumbo)
 
Caporegime
Joined
20 Sep 2006
Posts
28,841
Similar setup here, I have a 4x 1Gbps PCI Card for WAN and a 2x 10 Gbps card for LAN. I just forgot to update the vSwitch config from the default 1500.
 

RSR

RSR

Soldato
Joined
17 Aug 2006
Posts
9,155
I deliberately placed a new order with Zen rather than migrate my FTTC connection, so not sure if I am on GEA or not.

On a side note, I am going to move my FTTC to Talk Talk as a backup.

Here is my trace route if that helps.

FTTP

Code:
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [151.101.128.81]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  udmp.home.local [10.10.1.1]
  2     7 ms     8 ms     7 ms  lo0-0.bng2.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.77.129]
  3     3 ms     5 ms     5 ms  lag-5.p2.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.73.91]
  4     4 ms     5 ms     4 ms  lag-2.p2.thn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.73.138]
  5     4 ms     5 ms     5 ms  lag-1.br2.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.73.169]
  6     4 ms     4 ms     3 ms  195.66.225.91
  7     3 ms     3 ms     4 ms  151.101.128.81

Trace complete.

FTTC

Code:
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [151.101.64.81]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  untangle.home.local [10.10.1.2]
  2     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  lo0-0.bng1.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.77.128]
  3     6 ms     6 ms     6 ms  lag-3.p1.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.73.85]
  4     7 ms     6 ms     6 ms  lag-2.p1.thn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.73.132]
  5     6 ms     6 ms     6 ms  lag-2.br2.thn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.73.155]
  6     6 ms     6 ms     6 ms  195.66.225.91
  7     7 ms     6 ms     6 ms  151.101.64.81

Trace complete.
 
Last edited:
Caporegime
Joined
20 Sep 2006
Posts
28,841
Code:
[root @ untangle] ~ # ip a | grep peer
    inet 82.69.112.207 peer 51.148.77.133/32 scope global ppp0

traceroute to bbc.co.uk (151.101.0.81), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  lo0-0.bng5.thn-lon.zen.net.uk (51.148.77.133)  13.015 ms  12.979 ms  12.965 ms
 2  lag-15.p2.thn-lon.zen.net.uk (51.148.73.100)  11.686 ms  11.675 ms  11.660 ms
 3  lag-2.p1.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk (51.148.73.133)  11.640 ms lag-1.br2.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk (51.148.73.169)  11.618 ms lag-2.p2.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk (51.148.73.139)  11.602 ms
 4  * lag-1.br2.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk (51.148.73.197)  11.575 ms *
 5  * * *
<snip>
30  * * *

I sometimes get given the .129 gateway also but I don't get those pings. I used to!

If it's a recent line you may not be able to see, but look in Zen under my orders > order history:

Zen FTTP GEA Migration
zen******@zen Fulfilled on 22/06/2022

Edit, same gateway after a few poff/pon.

Code:
[root @ untangle] ~ # ip a | grep peer
    inet 82.69.112.207 peer 51.148.77.129/32 scope global ppp0
[root @ untangle] ~ # ping 1.1.1.1
PING 1.1.1.1 (1.1.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=59 time=11.6 ms
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=59 time=11.1 ms
 
Caporegime
Joined
20 Sep 2006
Posts
28,841
I have nothing like that for ether of my lines (FTTP / FTTC)
You might be lucky. I've got on the same gateway as you and whilst I don't expect to get the same ping as you, I have had <5ms prior to being migrated. Maybe the migration does something between the exchange and the actual gateway, I'll need to read up on it and see if there's any info.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
15,980
Location
Manchester
This is what I'm seeing when tracing to bbc.

Code:
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [151.101.0.81]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  amplifi.lan [192.168.154.1]
  2    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  lo0-0.bng1.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.77.128]
  3     9 ms    10 ms    10 ms  lag-3.p1.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.73.85]
  4    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  lag-1.br1.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk [51.148.73.181]
  5    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  195.66.225.91
  6    11 ms    10 ms    10 ms  151.101.0.81
 
Associate
Joined
2 Oct 2004
Posts
606
Location
South East
I am also on Zen and do not have the major issues others have, but its interesting to note a connection on the same PON as me (same street) has half the latency via Talktalk.

ZEN:
Code:
Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=118
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=118
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=118
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=118
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=118

Taktalk:
Code:
Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=59
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=59
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=59
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=59
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=59
 

RSR

RSR

Soldato
Joined
17 Aug 2006
Posts
9,155
What are the thoughts on Talk Talk, as I may move my FTTC (Fibre 65) connection to them? Do they use PPPoE on FTTC? It's not really used for much now it's just there for a backup now.
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Mar 2003
Posts
11,130
Here’s my talk talk review:
Backhaul: solid, never any slowdowns
Price: Good
Supplied equipment: reasonable
Support: never used it but probably **** like all mainstream ISPs.
Complaints: none.

I’m not sure what they use on FTTC, but my FTTP is DHCP.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KIA
Associate
Joined
13 Jun 2007
Posts
1,236
Location
London
You might be lucky. I've got on the same gateway as you and whilst I don't expect to get the same ping as you, I have had <5ms prior to being migrated. Maybe the migration does something between the exchange and the actual gateway, I'll need to read up on it and see if there's any info.
Hate to say it but I think this has made my mind up to avoid zen for my fttp order next week. I was still considering them even though they were pricier but this GEA migration business seems to be a bit of a potential headache.

Think I’ll give Vodafone a shot
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
24,944
I'd rather TalkTalk than Vodafone. At least with TalkTalk you can post on their forum and someone who isn't a complete idiot will help you. Vodafone just tell you to Tweet them.
 
Associate
Joined
13 Jun 2007
Posts
1,236
Location
London
I'd rather TalkTalk than Vodafone. At least with TalkTalk you can post on their forum and someone who isn't a complete idiot will help you. Vodafone just tell you to Tweet them.
Also true. Seems Vodafone’s £45pm has gone anyway.
 

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,545
Location
UK
I'd rather TalkTalk than Vodafone. At least with TalkTalk you can post on their forum and someone who isn't a complete idiot will help you. Vodafone just tell you to Tweet them.

Who would have thought twitter became a help support line for companies.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
24,944
It's ridiculous that companies expect you to sign up for accounts with US social media companies to get help with their services. What's wrong with running a service desk that you can email? Why the obsession with live chat or phone calls?
 
Top Bottom