1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by michellez, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 17, 2007

    Posts: 8,011

    Location: UK

    Wouldn't interleaving up the ping though? They haven't changed.

    Code:
    Pinging www.google.co.uk [172.217.23.3] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 172.217.23.3: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=56
    Reply from 172.217.23.3: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=56
    Reply from 172.217.23.3: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=56
    Reply from 172.217.23.3: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=56
    
    Ping statistics for 172.217.23.3:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 9ms, Average = 8ms
    Heres my result history, you can see how it used to be and then when I noticed the difference (Aug and Sept)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. bulldog147

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 22, 2009

    Posts: 5,119

    Could be line banded
     
  3. ChrisD.

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 20, 2006

    Posts: 22,760

    Sure it's not some form of QOS on your router?
     
  4. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 17, 2007

    Posts: 8,011

    Location: UK

    I thought that too, and checked it when it all started happening, its all off and always has been. Wish it were that simple!


    I'm actually starting to wonder now if its Plusnet and their new network. I know they've been having a lot if issues of late. But thought it was only affecting new customers. But reading around that might not be the case.

    Might be time to jump ship I think. just on hold to PN now, 15 min queue. It was 30 mins last night. That says a lot! :mad:
     
  5. varkanoid

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 31, 2007

    Posts: 8,620

    Location: The TARDIS, Wakefield, UK

    IP profile doesnt mean actual speed you will get never has. Same with ADSL BT always show what the line is capable of but you will never get it. Same reason why your upload actual is lower.
    eg my IP profile is 65 but it get about 59/60. Dont forget the speed test BT do is not from your end its from their end. Same at work when a BT Engineer comes to fit or test a line with his little box of tricks and says "yep line is capable of 16mb" but when you use your own equipment you get something like 12mb.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2016
  6. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 17, 2007

    Posts: 8,011

    Location: UK

    Yes I understand that, but nothing has changed on my end of the line, I've gone from getting a constant, steady, reliable 74Mbps down for the last 3+ years to 69 and now 66Mbps. Have a look at the results above.

    I'm only 150m from the cab, hell I can almost see it from one of the windows.

    I know from when I had an unlocked HG612 that my max rate was up about 95 - 100Mb too.

    So something is wrong.


    Anyway, I've spoken to Plusnet again this morning after another 20 min wait. He did some tests, apparently he thinks there is an 'Impairment on one of the joints' on my line and agrees with me I should be getting the full speeds like I have been up until a month ago.

    Personally I think its Plusnet's new network I'm on because if I reboot the modem and get put on another gateway my speeds change, and remain consistent, just not as fast as they can/should be, for example gateway X will be 69Mbps and gateway z will be 66Mbps, and after looking at the PN forums it seems I'm not the only one either!

    So they said they would get back to me in 5 days after they've done more tests and they want me to run another BTW test tonight. Then decide if an engineer visit is required.

    I'll see what happens... Failing that I may well jump ship to Zen....!
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2016
  7. Kol

    Don

    Joined: Jan 8, 2003

    Posts: 13,379

    Location: London

    To be fair, I did have an impairment problem once. Someone must have been working in the cab but my speeds dropped dramatically. An engineer went out and one of my pairs was damaged somehow. He came back 20minutes later and my speeds were back to normal.

    They could be telling the truth here.
     
  8. KIA

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 14, 2004

    Posts: 13,519

    Actual throughput should be very close to the downstream IP profile, 1 megabit in my case.

    Upload is different because the profile is fixed.

    http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/IPprofile.htm#FTTC_ipProfile
     
  9. Tom_ed1987

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 1, 2004

    Posts: 1,445

    Location: Warwickshire

    I've been on infinity 1 for the past year & have been happy, especially with the Cashback & MasterCard deals which were available when started.
    Contract is almost up so it's time to work out what to do.
    In 'My BT' I have an offer to upgrade to infinity 2 for £15/mo, on a 24 month contract, so would work out at £34/month, albeit with no rewards.

    Do we think it's worth staying/upgrading, or are there any killer deals floating about from other providers at the moment for 76mb?
     
  10. Daaaavvveee

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 28, 2015

    Posts: 1,136

    Location: Bishops Cleeve, UK

    I have just been doing some tests and it looks like i have dropped about 45mbp/s from a wired connection, going to monitor over the next few days.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. roadie

    Mobster

    Joined: May 22, 2003

    Posts: 2,580

    Location: Hampshire

    I'm looking at the 52Mb BT Infinity Unlimited 1 package. Does this appear to be the best price to get it for?

    broadbandchoices £29.99 per month for 12 months + £69.98 (set up fee & delivery) = £429.86
    topcashback -£31.50
    BT reward card -£150
    total 'cost' £248.36
     
  12. nightmare99

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2006

    Posts: 3,646

    Sorry this has probably been asked before but a friend has just moved into a new build which has FTTP, the fibre modem is all there and connected. What are his choices on provider, is it pretty much BT?

    Also is it not good for the fibre modems to be turned off as I notice they install an small battery pack?
     
  13. TheVoice

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 15, 2005

    Posts: 20,517

    Location: Glasgow

    I believe the battery is so the phone will work in the event of a power cut.
     
  14. Hyper

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 2, 2005

    Posts: 3,529

    Location: Newcastle

    I recently signed up and got £140 quidco cashback and a £125 reward card so I would shop around.
     
  15. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 17, 2010

    Posts: 15,701

    Plusnet only do FTTP for existing customer still AFAIK. Other than BT I know of only two other FTTP ISP's, Andrews & Arnold and Zen.
     
  16. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,037

    Location: EGBB

    So something quite strange has happened. For the last 24 hours I have been syncd at 52.8 Mbps down and 10 Mbps up as reported by the smarthub.

    However the BT availability check shows a max of 47.9 Mbps max??

    [​IMG]

    This is interesting as on Sky Max (up to 76 Mbps) I only ever achieved 44 Mbps! Not sure what BT have done (I understand it is different equipment etc) but I'm loving it! :D
     
  17. nightmare99

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2006

    Posts: 3,646

    That actually makes perfect sense.

    Thanks, that will be BT for him then.
     
  18. JamieSissons

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 5, 2016

    Posts: 4

    Location: London

    [​IMG]

    This is my speed, get this 90% of the time and never have slow downs during peak times!
     
  19. Landy

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 17, 2008

    Posts: 707

    Location: Castleford

    Anyone having problems with Infinity today? mine keeps dropping for like 5 seconds at a time then will come back on, West Yorkshire area
     
  20. MichaelAwkward

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 22, 2014

    Posts: 3,124

    Location: Oxon

    Just placed my order for Infinity 1, as Virgin has become increasingly unreliable (entire days of no service, increasingly high latency at peak times) and recently put up my broadband only to £33pm. With cashback and the rewards card, it'll end up costing me £9.70pm. :D

    The Virgin retentions lady didn't even bother offering me a better deal.