1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Call of Duty: Black Ops IIII

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by antijoke, Mar 7, 2018.

  1. steinooo

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 31, 2003

    Posts: 4,445

    First time I've played cod in ages. Does anyone feel the performance is a little lacking? Fps wise. I've got an Xbox one s
     
  2. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 29,647

    Location: Welling, London

    Where’s the cheapest place to pick this up from guys? Had a look, but can’t find anything under £47. Thought it would be cheaper by now.
     
  3. antijoke

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 28, 2003

    Posts: 37,546

    Location: Stratford-Upon-Avon

    What platform? There’s an Xbox copy in the members market for £30
     
  4. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 29,647

    Location: Welling, London

    PS4, and it’s got to be new and sealed as it’s a present.
     
  5. Zico

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 15, 2003

    Posts: 4,778

    Location: South East

    Last edited: Nov 19, 2018
  6. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 29,647

    Location: Welling, London

  7. steinooo

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 31, 2003

    Posts: 4,445

    I'll rephrase.

    I play CoD split screen in both MP (mainly Kill confirmed) and zombies, and specifically when choosing your class e.g. "Battery", it's like i'm playing it on a PC with a CPU or GPU which is too poor. Sometimes in game it doesn't feel like it's coded optimally for the graphics on show too - No-one else finding this?
     
  8. Chris1712

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jul 29, 2004

    Posts: 8,641

    Location: Somerset

    Yes splitscreen is subpar on all platforms. It's asking a lot of the hardware and just can't keep up, split screen Blackout is even worse. Just play single player, lovely 60fps.
     
  9. nicktay2605

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 22, 2007

    Posts: 3,560

    Split screen has been broken since launch, it's a big reason why I sold the game. I don't buy the excuse that it's too taxing on the system, CoD:WWII split screen was perfect, it didn't feel any different to regular MP in terms of graphical fidelity and performance. Sure, BO4 is a bit more impressive to look at, but I don't see a reason it should be so much worse than WWII. I could have lived with the poor graphics on split screen MP but the huge black bars and the awful framerate were too much.
     
  10. antijoke

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 28, 2003

    Posts: 37,546

    Location: Stratford-Upon-Avon

    Are you kidding me?
     
  11. steinooo

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 31, 2003

    Posts: 4,445

    :( I wish I'd have looked this up prior, I dropped £50 on this last week and it's already plummeted to £35!

    The black bars are stupid but I had them in BLOPS3 and put >200hrs into that so I can cope, but the frame rate seems silly bad

    It's no good solution to "just play SP" as I only play CoD with my wife!
     
  12. Chris1712

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jul 29, 2004

    Posts: 8,641

    Location: Somerset

    Sounds like the powers that be want you to buy a 2nd PS4 ;). In fairness it is in the DigitalFoundry analysis, but yeah wouldn't expect everyone to look into these things. I just assumed that split screen was crap on the old ones too? I have rose tinted glasses of Goldeneye / Halo etc. split screen but in reality they were running 15-20 fps!
     
  13. steinooo

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 31, 2003

    Posts: 4,445

    funnily enough back in the day of MW and WaW, that's exactly what I used to do, 2 x xbox 360s, 2 x gold subs, 2 x tvs in the living room!!! :D

    The splitscreen on previous ones like WW2 was near perfect, I don't get why they can't get it right consistently.
     
  14. Chris1712

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jul 29, 2004

    Posts: 8,641

    Location: Somerset

    At least nowadays it could actually be better value, game sharing + psn sharing so you only need 1 sub and 1 copy (albeit digital) et voila ;). Sounds like you need a Pro for yourself and then hand down the PS4 for Christmas?
     
  15. steinooo

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 31, 2003

    Posts: 4,445

    very true, alas 2 tvs in the new room wouldn't work :( i am going to have another go with black ops 4 this weekend on splitscreen and try to block out all these comments and pretend everything is fine lol
     
  16. Andybtsn

    Don

    Joined: Oct 23, 2005

    Posts: 38,632

    Location: North Yorkshire

    How me and the missis play, 2 Pros in the room :)
     
  17. steinooo

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 31, 2003

    Posts: 4,445

    haha cool! Bet that's hard to explain to non gamers, especially when you tell them the price! Have you tried splitscreen and agree it's bad?
     
  18. ricky1981

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 10, 2003

    Posts: 4,359

    Location: New Zealand

    Takes me back to my first house-share, we had 3 TVs and a projector in the lounge, made for some fantastic COD/Halo nights. I am not sure that 10+ years later my other half would go for that idea anymore, not quite sure how she put up with it at the time!
     
  19. Andybtsn

    Don

    Joined: Oct 23, 2005

    Posts: 38,632

    Location: North Yorkshire

    We've had a similar setup of Xboxes, PC's and now PS4 so never had to resort to split screen unless friends round for a laugh.
     
  20. antijoke

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 28, 2003

    Posts: 37,546

    Location: Stratford-Upon-Avon

    Lol, I was in a stream of someone from DooM clan last night, my team got smashed as I knew what was going down, so I just sat back and tried to watch the objectives, I think I got under his skin a little. Was quite fun though to be fair.

    https://www.twitch.tv/videos/338982935?t=02h06m02s