1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cloning a drive.

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by Xein, Aug 5, 2018.

  1. Xein

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 15, 2010

    Posts: 1,297

    Afternoon all,

    I'm about to upgrade my computer and I'm wanting to clone my Windows drive to a new drive, however as the SSD was too small I moved the downloads/documents etc (folders) onto my secondary drive, if I clone my windows drive will the presets that I have arranged also follow or will it corrupt them in some way?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. chroniclard

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 8,136

    Should be fine, I have just done this with Clonezilla, went from OS drive 120gb ssd to 500gb ssd.

    Had to clone the whole drive, then resize the partition to use the extra space.
     
  3. Xein

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 15, 2010

    Posts: 1,297

    Fantastic, thanks for the reply :)
     
  4. chroniclard

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 8,136

    One strange thing I had, I had to make the main partition smaller first(reduced it by 1 gb) then it recognised the rest of the space and I could resize the partition to full space.
     
  5. Xein

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 15, 2010

    Posts: 1,297

    Seems odd but I'll make sure to look out for it. Thanks for the heads-up.
     
  6. andy_mk3

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 7,305

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Macrium Reflect will do this nicely :)
     
  7. Xein

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 15, 2010

    Posts: 1,297

    Out of 5 what and how would you rate it? The one I've just come across is called EaseUS Disk Copy, and seems okay?
     
  8. andy_mk3

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 7,305

    Location: Lincolnshire

    5/5! Macrium is totally free, very easy to use, full of features, has an awesome pre-boot environment. Really can't fault it!
     
  9. mods1965

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 10, 2014

    Posts: 472

    Location: Searching for dark energy...

    If you are using Samsung drives, their free data migration software works well. I cloned my Samsung Evo 850 250GB to a Evo 970 500GB without any issues.
     
  10. Xein

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 15, 2010

    Posts: 1,297

    Sadly I don't own any Samsung drives but thanks for the heads-up about it, definitely keep that in my for any future purchases :)
     
  11. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 45,668

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Paid for my version, they are a UK based company :)
     
  12. Vargas

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 15, 2012

    Posts: 3,817

    Location: Edinburgh / Rannoch

    I have the server and desktop Macrium versions. I sleep easier.
     
  13. Xein

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 15, 2010

    Posts: 1,297

    Glad for the further reassurance with Macrium, will definitely be going forward with that (once new parts arrive). Cheers for the replies :)
     
  14. andy_mk3

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 7,305

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Making me feel bad, I might have to buy it next time I need it :D
     
  15. APM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,283

    Location: Wales

    Have to agree with this.
     
  16. mattyfez

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 12, 2007

    Posts: 8,367

    Yeh macrium just takes care of partition sizes automatically assuming the total data on the source drive is less than the size of the destination drive.
     
  17. Danny091

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: North Wales

    I used the EaseUS Todo Backup free version to move from a larger drive to a smaller drive the other day. Moving from a normal HDD to SSD for a neighbours laptop. As long as the SSD is larger than the space your using it worked fine. Didn't have to play with partitions or anything.