1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** Dell UltraSharp U2410 24" Widescreen LCD Monitor @ £447.99 inc VAT ***

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Fatboy, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. ademcg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 29, 2005

    Posts: 2,071

    Location: Warrington

    I am looking to buy one of these U2410's but it is a Rev A01.... would that put me in high probability of it having trouble e.g. the tinting or other problems??

    Would you guys recommend steering clear of an A01 Revision or take the plunge?
     
  2. Craig321

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 2, 2004

    Posts: 19,971

    Depends on the price. You could always upgrade the firmware. Is it second hand? Can't you ask the buyer if it has issue if it is second hand?
     
  3. ademcg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 29, 2005

    Posts: 2,071

    Location: Warrington

    Thanks for the quick reply.

    Yeah it is second hand.
    Price is less than £300.
    The guy says he has not had issues, and is more of a gamer and so doesn't look for tinting type things.
    I guess it would be more noticeable on a certain coloured background?

    He got it as a refurbished unit, but states it is perfect....not sure...might give it a miss, refurbished is not my idea of quality....even if it is "cheap"

    Out of interest, Is the Firmware upgrade difficult?
    A board swap out or something??
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2011
  4. D-an-W

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2008

    Posts: 122

    It's a program you run with USB lead attached to monitor, not hard but always a risk.
     
  5. Jonny_doe

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 21, 2009

    Posts: 8

    Location: Bristol

    Thanks for all the info guys , Now just got to find the A03 Firmware to load on mine ....
     
  6. D-an-W

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2008

    Posts: 122

    Did A03 make it into the wild? The latest I found was A02...
     
  7. konicky

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 19, 2005

    Posts: 846

    Just got one of these and it's A05!
     
  8. D-an-W

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2008

    Posts: 122

  9. Jonny_doe

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 21, 2009

    Posts: 8

    Location: Bristol

    Any one of you with the A05 monitors , could you go into the factory menu , and see what your firmware is ???

    Mines M1F193


    factory menu = switch off the monitor , press the menu and brightness buttons , and keep them pressed, switch on the monitor , the light will pulse up , when they reach the top , let go of the 2 buttons , let the screen come on , and just press menu , and in the top right hand side of the menu , you will see the firmware number ...


    Many thanks
     
  10. D-an-W

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2008

    Posts: 122

    I can't do factory mode at all...haha (Mines A01 though!)
     
  11. kmufc77

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 15, 2007

    Posts: 4,893

    Location: South West

    Mine says A05 on the box which was bought from a very famous site in Sheffield recently.

    Afraid i cant get the firmware number as i cant seem to replicate what you've done to get this.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  12. Jonny_doe

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 21, 2009

    Posts: 8

    Location: Bristol

    Dell U2410 - How to access the Service Menu

    To activate factory menu, turn off your monitor. Then hold second and forth button(counting from the top), and while holding press the power button. The led will start turning on from the bottom. Once the leds are all on press the first button(the blue factory menu should be opened by now, if not try press the top button again).

    tag: Dell U2410 Service Menu
     
  13. kmufc77

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 15, 2007

    Posts: 4,893

    Location: South West

    M1F1A1
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  14. Jonny_doe

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 21, 2009

    Posts: 8

    Location: Bristol

    Cheers m8
     
  15. kosch

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 16, 2005

    Posts: 110

    Location: UK, Cambridge

    I'm starting to get itchy as I've had my 2407WFP since 2006 but there is a voice inside my head saying wait wait!

    I noticed the screen tearing quite badly in the middle the otherday when I was playing Divinity 2
     
  16. FMTopfan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 17, 2009

    Posts: 1,052

    Location: UK

    Why don't you just enable Vsync kosch to solve screentear either ingame or GPU control panel? It's certainly not caused by the monitor.
     
  17. ghutchison14078

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 15, 2010

    Posts: 1,392


    I bought my U2410 after my 2407wfp died about 2 months ago (also purchased new in 2006 :( ).

    Whilst I wasn't blow away by the difference in image quality the U2410's colours seem richer.

    Reds are redder and blues are bluer...so on and so forth.

    Gaming is great on the u2410 as it was on the 2407...no noticeable input lag or panel latency.

    So to sum up...Yeah the U2410 is a fantastic monitor but just stick with the 2407 until it dies and you HAVE TO buy a new monitor
     
  18. .temp

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 20, 2010

    Posts: 370

    Location: South Wales

    gah :( why so expensive
     
  19. kosch

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 16, 2005

    Posts: 110

    Location: UK, Cambridge

    I could have sworn it was enabled I'll go back and check!
     
  20. nigel1210

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 30, 2003

    Posts: 262

    Anybody had a swap out done by dell recently, considering swapping the one i've got currently as its got a stuck pixel and a couple of thunderbugs stuck under the screen.

    Just wondering if they are still sending out ropey replacement units.