1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dry Ice starter thread

Discussion in 'OC Archive' started by Marvt74, Jan 28, 2006.

  1. Sparky-F1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 23, 2004

    Posts: 7,559

    Location: Roundabout City


    RUH ROH!
     
  2. Brwmogazos

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,064

    Location: HELLAS

    Dielectric grease might come handy for places where you cant insulate ;)


    Good luck with the project :)
     
  3. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: Aug 7, 2003

    Posts: 39,977

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    I'll chip in with liquid electrical tape for insulation (thanks to Trixxxy). Great stuff, paint it on, let it dry and once you've done with it you can easily peel it off leaving no mess.

    Jokester
     
  4. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 20, 2004

    Posts: 14,013

    Location: Higher Walton

    Yeah i've been looking for that liquid tape for a while and nowhere in the uk seemed to sell it, though i think i saw it in RPW catalogue so going to check when i head down there next
     
  5. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: Aug 7, 2003

    Posts: 39,977

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    I got it off the net from a car restoration site, I'll see if I can track it down again.

    Jokester

    Edit:- Here, half way down in 3 colours.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2006
  6. Brwmogazos

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,064

    Location: HELLAS

    Man that tape looks great... wish we had that back in the old days :p

    Anyone tried that for insulating the socket in a Mk2 Gt mount?
    I am wondering applying that, first in the boardds pcb and socket,then applying dielectric grease on top, if its gonna solve all the long term condensation probs with phase change running 24/7...
     
  7. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 20, 2004

    Posts: 14,013

    Location: Higher Walton

    Thats awesome thanks jokester will get some in for the future though think this already pretty well insulated for the moment
     
  8. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: Aug 7, 2003

    Posts: 39,977

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Don't think you would be able to use the tape in the socket as it sets like rubber, so either it would set before you put the CPU in or the CPU would be a struggle to get out of the socket once it dries if you put it in wet.

    But it's great for painting onto the PCB before putting neoprene/foam over the top.

    Jokester
     
  9. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 20, 2004

    Posts: 14,013

    Location: Higher Walton

    Hahahahaha Matt i win, new chip is here and still on page 1 :p

    Windows seems buggered though so just re-installing then hopefully the mach2 will see life again, it's been bored for a while now :(
     
  10. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    so what you're basically saying is that by post 70 you have a chip which appears to work but you haven't got windows running?

    I don't consider this lost! The wager was getting something working.

    ;)

    10 posts left!
     
  11. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 20, 2004

    Posts: 14,013

    Location: Higher Walton

    Nice quick rush there but :p

    [​IMG]
     
  12. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    bah.. foiled :mad:


    NOW break it ;)
     
  13. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 20, 2004

    Posts: 14,013

    Location: Higher Walton

    A taster, Sub 30second superpi at only 2.6ghz

    [​IMG]
     
  14. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    is that air coled?

    thats faster than my 2.65 X2 by a couple of seconds already :(

    anyway.. I really ought to be working, I'm sure people are looking over my should thinking "that lazy b*****d is browsing forums!"
     
  15. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 20, 2004

    Posts: 14,013

    Location: Higher Walton

    Bah damn you dothan

    Ok dilemma you folks can help with.

    I can either

    A. Take the IHS off my dothan and fit the mach 2
    B. Leave the IHS on my dothan and try and botch the mach 2 on another way
    C. Ignore the mach 2 altogether and use air untill i buy dry ice
    D. Botch the mach 2 onto the x800 and use air on the dothan
    E. Kill them, kill them all
     
  16. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: Aug 7, 2003

    Posts: 39,977

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    I vote E, it's what I do.

    Jokester
     
  17. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 5, 2005

    Posts: 17,072

    Location: Brighton

    A combination of D and E tbh.
     
  18. iraiguana

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 24, 2005

    Posts: 2,578

    ignore the heat spreader and just fit the round part of the march 2 to the center of the dothan and should cover the hot spot and then the rest will be cooled by conduction of the plate. and hopefully no water will get in there if it can be sealed somehow. good luck :D hope it goes well.
     
  19. Marvt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 20, 2004

    Posts: 14,013

    Location: Higher Walton

    Aye there to worry of cracking the core though and since i've killed my 730 i'm being cautious

    Either way

    Yeah BABY :D

    [​IMG]

    /goes back to sorting out messed up windows install
     
  20. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 5, 2005

    Posts: 17,072

    Location: Brighton

    Your a braver/crazier man than me ;)

    Good luck with it