1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ethernet cables not appearing to work in lounge....

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Bazzards, May 8, 2019.

  1. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,482

    Upload to imgur and copy the link from there.
     
  2. Bazzards

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 2, 2008

    Posts: 878

    Location: Near London

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2019
  3. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,482

    I’ve seen the picture from the email notification I received. From what I can see it’s wired incorrectly. They need chopping off and replacing with the wires in the order shown in the link I provided above.

    Don’t use electricians for network wiring.

    What he’s done will checkout with a basic network tester. It would probably also work with very short cables.

    There should be a pair connected to the centre two pins. Then another pair split so that goes either side of centre. Finally one pair to each side.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2019
  4. Bazzards

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 2, 2008

    Posts: 878

    Location: Near London

    Thanks Bremen, I will have a look at the weekend.

    Will update this thread. :)
     
  5. Bazzards

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 2, 2008

    Posts: 878

    Location: Near London

    Are there any tools I should use?
     
  6. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,482

    To put plugs on you need a crimp tool.
     
  7. Bazzards

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 2, 2008

    Posts: 878

    Location: Near London

    Cool will purchase one this evening. Thanks once again.
     
  8. zipp0r

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 12, 2010

    Posts: 1,256

    green and blue are in the wrong place. it should be white/orange > orange > white/green > blue > white/blue > green > white/brown > brown
     
  9. Bazzards

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 2, 2008

    Posts: 878

    Location: Near London

    Thanks zippor.
     
  10. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,482

    If you are going to crimp your own plugs on try and get the jacket under the cable clamp.

    If it’s solid core cable you also have the option of putting faceplates on.
     
  11. Bazzards

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 2, 2008

    Posts: 878

    Location: Near London

    Not sure they are solid core. Is it easy to check?
     
  12. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,482

    It is if you chop the plugs off.

    It’s probably written on the jacket as well.
     
  13. ChrisD.

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 20, 2006

    Posts: 23,217

    Yeah cables definitely cabled wrong.
     
  14. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 23,207

    Pairs 1 and 3 aren't done right, as about a million people have said now.
     
  15. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,363

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Wired incorrectly and badly. Only met one electrician that terminates will. Tidied up after about twenty that didn't do a good job!
     
  16. Bazzards

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 2, 2008

    Posts: 878

    Location: Near London

    Just waiting on some crimpers and plugs to arrive then will work on correcting them. Probably early next week now, shall update the thread. :)
     
  17. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,363

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Your network tester, are you checking both ends? The remote end is the important one on cheap testers..

    You want the tester to flash them in order 1-8.
     
  18. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,482

    A cable miswired as that one is will pass a basic continuity test as the correct pins are connected to each other.

    The cable will fail because two of the pairs have been split.
     
  19. visibleman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 3, 2005

    Posts: 1,337

    Location: The South

    @Bazzards You want to end up with something like this -

    [​IMG]

    As @bremen1874 mentions, make sure you get the cable jacket under the clamp so the plug is securely attached to the cable.
     
  20. Bazzards

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 2, 2008

    Posts: 878

    Location: Near London

    Thanks Visibleman, that's what I will aim for.