1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Far Cry 6

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Poneros, 10 Jul 2020.

  1. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 17,818

    Where's the RTX options for this? All I'm seeing is DXR Reflections and DXR Shadows but it's a slide show with them enabled. :confused:
     
  2. Mobius 1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 14,084

    Damn I hated the game where you had to top up on malaria pills every 20 minutes. I think it was 3?

    LOVED 4 though. Pagan min was a cool villain.
     
  3. oldestgregg

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2011

    Posts: 6,335

    Location: Durham

    DXR is Ray tracing. Not sure how thats a thing for you though as I have both on and theres no problems for me. 3090/10900k @4k on Windows 11.
     
  4. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 17,818

    I'm getting 6fps in the benchmark.

    Weird
     
  5. oldestgregg

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2011

    Posts: 6,335

    Location: Durham

    Im getting 60ish.
     
  6. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 17,818

    I toggled HDR off and back on and it's all good now. :)
     
  7. oldestgregg

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2011

    Posts: 6,335

    Location: Durham

    I was starting to think wasnt turned on for me so thats good to hear!
     
  8. oldestgregg

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2011

    Posts: 6,335

    Location: Durham

    2 was the pills. Tried to do something new and different but it was awful. I thought the "insanity" guy was good in 3 but 4 never sat right with me just felt like more of the same.
     
  9. AStaley

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Mar 2004

    Posts: 1,723

    Location: Kent, UK.

    Think you just described the entire Far Cry series, just more of the same. They’re nothing special, just a bit of fun for a short period and once you’re done they get forgotten.
     
  10. DarrenM343

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2008

    Posts: 5,656

    Made some good changes along the way I think. I've always enjoyed the Far Cry series. Openworld games are not enjoyed by everyone however and can see that in some of the comments from others elsewhere.

    How does it compare to 5? I didn't enjoy 5 so much, although New Dawn was better. 5 was still okay I just expected better. Being pulled away over and over. Anyone else felt the same way about 5 and enjoying 6 more?
    Will pick it up at some point. Deciding whether to pick it up now or wait a bit.
    I thought one place had it for £39.99 the other day but 41.99 now. Can't seem to beat that atm
     
  11. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,987

    Location: N.Ireland

    I needed a new SSD for all my games. You can get a free copy if you buy a Samsung one! ;)
     
  12. TNA

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Mar 2008

    Posts: 19,837

    Location: London

    I was tempted with that deal, but then I thought I don’t want an ssd. I want an nvme :D

    I will wait for a good deal on the WD Black $N850.
     
  13. HRL

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,408

    Location: Devon

    It’s £39.99 on the UPlay store if you use up some of those Ubi coins.
     
  14. Usher

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,362

    It's funny how some online reviewers are saying it's too much like other Far Cry games etc, then see what happens when the makers completely remodel a popular series game so it's very different and then reviewers say it's not a proper Far cry game at all :rolleyes:

    Personally I love FC games and this runs like a dream on my 5+ year old machine, all on ultra except shadows (with the help of my G-SYNC monitor)
     
  15. ne0

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Feb 2018

    Posts: 538

    I'm absolutely loving fc6 so far, imo it's best in series! Noticed that it was using 22gb of my vram last night which is insane lol. I raised an eyebrow at 10gb when the 3080 came out and feel sorry for peeps in that camp, it's ridiculous tbh. Great game anyway, can't wait to dive back in!
     
  16. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,968

    Location: Kent.

    How on earth are you using 22GB? Mine won't go above 7GB that I've seen.
     
  17. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 17,818

    It's using that because it can, not because it has to. ;)
     
  18. ne0

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Feb 2018

    Posts: 538

    No idea! I'm playing at beyond 4k with fsr enabled and this was after a few hours playing. Interesting though!
     
  19. ne0

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Feb 2018

    Posts: 538

    That's obvious

    The hd texture pack officially require 11gb which is the point.
     
  20. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,987

    Location: N.Ireland

    In before @TNA and the boys swarm all over it! :p