1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Good Cheap Server - HP Proliant Microserver 4 BAY - OWNERS THREAD

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by dragonuk, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. Dynix

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 25, 2004

    Posts: 2,801

    I've just finished setting up my Gen10 Plus. I did look at alternatives/selfbuilds before hand but I'm very happy with it as I was limited in space - it literally fits perfectly in the limited space I had left in my rack, placing it elsewhere was not an option - but I do appreciate it will be priced higher than any self-build or older alternatives. I've now got an E-2246G, 64GB RAM, 2x 1TB NVME, a 10TB and 12TB drive inside it and it will now replace a dedi server I rent, be home to a couple of VMs for home use and host a local Plex server.

    My only disappointment was the pricing of the iLO kit. Some websites had it out of stock/as a pre-order for £40-45 but when it came into stock briefly it was around £100, but I did buy it (as did others - they quickly went out of stock) as it was the part I was waiting for before I could properly start using it. I have to say iLO 5 is an amazing addon and I would highly recommend it. I've set the iLO to act as a shared port so only need the one ethernet cable. It is by far the best KVM/IPMI layer I've used (and I've used quite a few - many SuperMicro offerings/ASRock Rack/Lantronix Spider).

    If anyone has any questions about the Gen10 Plus let me know and I'll try to get back to you/answer where I can. Thanks to those who helped a few pages back!
     
  2. #Chri5#

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 27, 2003

    Posts: 6,896

    Location: Shropshire

    Questions - go on then :D How have you configured the storage (did you opt for a RAID controller)? I presume you purchased the Pentium DC model and then swapped the CPU?
     
  3. BongoHunter

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 14, 2014

    Posts: 1,869

    A breakdown of what it's cost would be nice :)
     
  4. Trig

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,891

    Location: Leicestershire

    Tempted with a 10+, would certainly reduce my existing home build footprint as I'm in a Node 804 at the mo...
     
  5. Golf1.6

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 5, 2012

    Posts: 658

    what is the wattage on the power brick on the 10+?

    Reason I ask is I am using a gen7 with a 120w brick which is fine, but I noticed gen10 uses a 200w psu, so I'm trying to work out if gen10 requires a 200w power brick or not. I want to buy a gen10 and use a picopsu on it.
     
  6. Trig

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,891

    Location: Leicestershire

    180w, I've gone off of the idea of a G10+ now, thinking of building an ITX build based on the Node 304 case as I'm already running 2x2.5" and 4x3.5" drives which I just cant do on the Gen10+
     
  7. HEADRAT

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 19,890

    Location: Cambridge, UK

    Couldn't the 180w PSU just be replaced?
     
  8. Snapshot

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2006

    Posts: 4,058

    Location: Wiltshire

    The Gen10+ already has an external power brick so there's nothing for you to do.

    I originally read trig's post that way too then realised he was probably talking about the number of drives rather than the power required for them.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2020
  9. Trig

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,891

    Location: Leicestershire

    In theory yes it could be replaced, as long as everything else isn't based around that 180w, which I wouldnt expect it to be tbh.
     
  10. Golf1.6

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 5, 2012

    Posts: 658

    I was just asking what the gen10+ has (assuming the power requirements for both units are the same). the 1U psu don't come in small increments, and tend to come in bigger step up, 150w, 200w etc. Where as power bricks come in much smaller increments.

    I found the 1U psu in my gen7 was really loud and would create this disconcerting sharp whiny fan noise. I swapped it out with a 160W picopsu + 150w power brick which quietending it down.

    I got a gen10 x3126 microserver coming this week. I'll put my pico in and give it a run, if it has issues I will buy a 200W pico psu and covert an 200w xbox psu.

    I think 200W above the absolutely max containing 1x dvd drive, 4x 7200rpm hard drives possibly graphics card & esata drive sticking at the back. My usage is nowehere near that.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2020
  11. Golf1.6

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 5, 2012

    Posts: 658

    Hey

    I've bought a proliant microserver gen10 x3216

    I'm happy with it, works well - have a demanding app running in VM and is coping fine with 60% cpu utilisation.

    I need some more ram though. Anyone know if a 16GB & 8GB ram will work. Or will I need to remove the 8GB stick when I buy the 16GB stick?

    16GB ECC unbuffered rams are quite expensive, so I'd need to buy 1 now and another perhaps later on, so looking for ram that's widely available that I can buy at a later date.
     
  12. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,649

    The used prices on 2x16GB ECC unbuffered is only £50ish. I say that as someone with a small pile of it waiting to upgrade a server to 128GB.
     
  13. Golf1.6

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 5, 2012

    Posts: 658

    Ordered the wrong time, secured a pair. But it's been held by UPS for more than a week.

    A well known auction site I use had a special offer on for buying shipping labels through them, 50% off until end of June. They may have swamped UPS as they are struggling to cope. Now The status says that UPS have held the package in warehouse pending agreement. I wonder if it's because UPS are paid enough by the auction site.

    Anyways back to the box.

    I am running the box non stop at 70% CPU utilisation and 59 degrees celcius for a a windows software I'm running on my box. Is that bad for the x3126 APU? It doesn't last forever - but I do need it to run for 10 days at a time.
     
  14. GSXRMovistar

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 6, 2002

    Posts: 9,399

    Location: London UK

    What Window based O/S are people now running on their micro servers?

    My WHS2011 system drive just failed and I need to rebuild but knowing this is no longer supported I should ideally move to something more current.

    Reason for sticking with windows is I already have a 5 disk drive bender storage pool setup plus the server runs an Emby server instance.

    Thanks.
     
  15. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,649

    Server Essentials 2019, but an actual legitimate licence isn’t going to be cheap. Perhaps consider that emby and drive pooling works on many different OS’s that are both free/cheap and better suited to what you are doing. FreeNAS and it’s derivatives or UnRAID are the obvious choices.
     
  16. GSXRMovistar

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 6, 2002

    Posts: 9,399

    Location: London UK

    But my existing pool is already setup and I don't have the space or free time to perform a migration of the multiple shares. Plus would still need to get a window system up and running to access the existing pool.
     
  17. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,649

    Then I see a £300ish bill in your future.
     
  18. BongoHunter

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 14, 2014

    Posts: 1,869

    Windows server 2019 keys/licences appear to £6 and up online - though I suppose there's always a bit of risk with key sellers
     
  19. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,649

    Piracy has always been a problem, people paying to pirate software is just stupid piracy.
     
  20. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,931

    Location: Aberdeen

    Windows Server Essential 2016. DON'T go for 2019 as that drops the workstation backup.