Help on new build please

Associate
Joined
21 Sep 2009
Posts
22
Hey all building a new pc was looking at the following

- Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4890 Vapor-X 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card

- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 LGA775 'Yorkfield' 2.83GHz 12MB-cache (1333FSB) Processor - Retail + Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising Game

- OCZ Reaper 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 PC3-14400 (1800MHz) Tri-Channel (OCZ3RPR1800LV6GK)

- Coolermaster Gladiator RC-600 Case - Black (No PSU)

-Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000.B 1TB SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (0A38016)

-Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro CPU Cooler (Socket LGA775)

- Samsung SH-S223B/BEBE 22x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer ReWriter (Black) - OEM

Was wondering which Mobo people recommend? Previously had issues with the foxconn blackops as it was failing to load kept cycling on and off every 3 seconds.

Cheers
 
Soldato
Joined
4 Feb 2003
Posts
10,919
Location
telford, shropshire
have a look at the gigabyte p45 mobo's.

i'd swap the tri channel for dual channel memory.

what's your budget and whats the system going to be used for, might let people produce a better spec.
 
Soldato
Joined
23 Apr 2009
Posts
11,973
Location
Cheshire
I put the lot in the first post into the OCUk basket and it came to £620 delivered, but with no mobo or PSU. Adding on a decent mobo and PSU will push this up by £170 to £790 total- I used this as the budget, here is my recommended spec based on this:

782i5.png


Change the cooler to a Corsair H50 if they start stocking the new s1156 mount (or wait for it).
 
Associate
OP
Joined
21 Sep 2009
Posts
22
Sadly I already have all the components I listed and am just looking for a mobo which is compatable with the existing bits and pieces. Like I said initially I bought the blackops one but I had massive issues with it not loading and got a refund so is it best to get the same one or for £100 is there a better option. Cheers for taking the time to knock up that list though mate its really apreciated
 
Soldato
Joined
23 Apr 2009
Posts
11,973
Location
Cheshire
Ah, when you said "looking at the following" I assumed you hadn't bought them yet.

As you already have DDR3 RAM, I suggest giving "Asus P5E3 PRO" a google, here is a review.

Edit: Apologies for the confusion, I meant the ASUS P5Q3, not the above X38 board I suggested. The review link goes to the correct board.
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
21 Sep 2009
Posts
22
Well I can most likely return the RAM but the rest of it would be a tad harder.
The Asus P5E3 seems very similar to the one I linked.
Either way for £100ish I wonder what I can get from OCers
 
Soldato
Joined
23 Apr 2009
Posts
11,973
Location
Cheshire
Well I can most likely return the RAM but the rest of it would be a tad harder.
The Asus P5E3 seems very similar to the one I linked.
Either way for £100ish I wonder what I can get from OCers

The P5Q3 uses the P45 chipset, as opposed to the X48 on the one you linked to. The P45 is a newer chip and is better for overclocking, that review I linked to shows the P5E3 doing very well compared to an X48 board. If you plan on upgrading to i7 (X58 platform) then I suggest holding onto the RAM and using 2 of the sticks in a P5Q3 board. If you don't plan on this kind of future upgrade then I suggest returning the RAM via DSR and getting the RAM linked below.

If you want it from OCUK, the I suggest you go for this board. Its a solid overclocker and has plenty of features. However, it uses DDR2 RAM, so you will need to buy some stuff like this.

Edit: My mistake with the names, I was meaning the ASUS P5Q3 - the DDR3 p45 board.
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
21 Sep 2009
Posts
22
Argh im in between a rock and a hardplace! the one i linked was recommended cos of how good it is to overclock + iv got the DDR3 ram. I was just so frustrated with a miscellanous error with it not booting that I sent it back. It may just be that the one i got was faulty and a new blackops one would be fine and get my pc up and running
 
Soldato
Joined
23 Apr 2009
Posts
11,973
Location
Cheshire
I just had a look at this thread, I hope its Ok to link to this but it is very informative. Take home message: Foxconn blackops was not shipped with the updated BIOS to run a Q9550.

Maybe you could ask OCUK to flash the BIOS for you so it will work right off the bat.
 
Top Bottom