How to get a career in programming

Associate
Hi Gents,

I'm looking for some advice and direction really.

I've finally decided which path I'd like to follow. I'd like to become a programmer/developer.

This is an area that interests me greatly, however, I have a couple of problems.

1. I've just finished university with an MA in Medieval History - neither a related or scientific subject.

2. I currently work full time as a hotel manager and have done for the last year, I have been with the company for 2.5 years. I cannot afford to leave this job to study so cannot do a full time course (my full time masters has almost killed me).

I have A levels in maths, physics and history, with an AS level in chemistry.

Also I'm 23 if that makes any difference?

Basically I'm looking for advice on how to get into the industry, what if any qualifications I should attain, and is it possible to teach myself from books/videos etc?

I would ideally like to learn Java and then another complimentary language. Would this be doable and would it provide me with the breadth of knowledge to perform at least an entry level role?

I had thought about maybe creating a portfolio alongside a blog. Would this be beneficial?

Thank you for any input!

Associate
Ruby could be a good place to start as you can then expand into Ruby on Rails for web stuff and it will give you a good understanding of OOP and procedural programming which can be carried forward to Java, C# etc ... I say ruby over java because java can be a bit of a bitch to start with, very unforgiving and big complex IDE's, Ruby you can get started with notepad++ and a terminal window.

It is best if you think of a project you want to do and then make it, if its something you have an interest in it will be much more enjoyable.