1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

is 2gb not enough?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by robertchalmers1, 23 Feb 2014.

  1. Avenged7Fold

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Sep 2012

    Posts: 11,696

    Location: Surrey

    Ahhh unlucky. TBH i very much doubt you will be dissappointed with a single good card. The 780/290p's are beastly. Even if benchmarks suggest more grunt, if you are already well over the refresh rate of your screen, i cant imagine you would see much real life gain with two 770's over a 780 or 290p.
     
  2. Cd0gz

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Sep 2009

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lots of different places

    2gb is fine at the moment but I would not be buying a 2gb card if I was buying a card now.

    2 gb might be fine for a bit but it depends how games go with all the ram now available in consoles. IE Killzone uses 3gig of the ps4s ram for graphics.

    Assetto Corsa uses 2.6 gig on my PC and AA is off, 50+ fps. AMD 7950 BTW
     
  3. Stas823

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Mar 2012

    Posts: 1,150

    Location: In a house

    diffirent gpu's use diffirent amounts of vram in games, not too long ago there was a graph circulating around these forums where bf4 used a couple hundred mb of vram more on an amd card than the nvidia one with neither hitting their ceiling.
     
  4. robertchalmers1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2014

    Posts: 1,109

    I still dont understand why if 2gb ir not enough then why do nvidia still charge as much as 400+ for 2gb cards. I would hatento think I would spend 450 on the evga classified 2gb 770 to find in 6 months time it wouldnt run games properly
     
  5. Uncle Petey

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Jul 2012

    Posts: 15,111

    Location: London

    While I doubt the vram thing is gonna trouble you within the next 6 months, I honestly think you should just aim for a 780/290.
    They're not far off your current budget and would certainly last longer and provide a better experience with your triple screen racing.

    £450 for a 770? No thanks mate. 290 and a waterblock please :)
     
  6. jh30uk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 19 Feb 2014

    Posts: 3,832

    Location: To

    It is enough, for 108Op.

    EVGA charge a premium for Classifieds that has little to do with Nvidia.
     
  7. Cd0gz

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Sep 2009

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lots of different places

    Was this a 2gb card vs a 3gb?

    It was mentioned in another post on this thread that a game will use the extra memory to cache. Not sure what effect this will have on the game though.
     
  8. robertchalmers1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2014

    Posts: 1,109

    Yeah I noticed evga stuff was expensive for whatever reason and I think the 290 plus waterblock sounds like best bet although means I wont be doing any gaming for 4-6 weeks
     
  9. jh30uk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 19 Feb 2014

    Posts: 3,832

    Location: To

    So long as you can still get online to surf Pr0n does it really matter?
     
  10. robertchalmers1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2014

    Posts: 1,109

    Lol you gotta point there I guess, sure I could still manage that
     
  11. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 May 2012

    Posts: 31,003

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Some of those high resolution images need a lot of RAM.
     
  12. robertchalmers1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2014

    Posts: 1,109

    Lol how much are we talking here. Will I need to buy some more?...
     
  13. triss

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Nov 2013

    Posts: 2,716

    More Pr0n or more Ram :)
     
  14. Cd0gz

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Sep 2009

    Posts: 227

    Location: Lots of different places

    A few terabytes should do.:p
     
  15. Uncle Petey

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Jul 2012

    Posts: 15,111

    Location: London

    Especially if you're going triple screen.
     
  16. TheRealDeal

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 May 2007

    Posts: 9,650

    Vram in a way is all about managing your expectations. For instance i only have a 1gb card atm but it handles most games at acceptable settings to get the fps i want. I don't play much AAA games these days so it's enough for me atm. When i used to play AAA shooters i upgraded quit a bit but mainly for more Gpu grunt. However if i wanted to play full on settings @ 1200p in this years games i would not buy a 2gb card with the new Gen consoles out. 3gb would make me feel more comfortable as i feel Ram is about to spike up because of this. Those with 2gb cards will still be able to play even if this is the case as i can still play pretty good settings on 1gb.
     
  17. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Sep 2011

    Posts: 12,615

    Location: Surrey

    This thread still going? :D
     
  18. jh30uk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 19 Feb 2014

    Posts: 3,832

    Location: To

    Topic is now Pr0n though. :)
     
  19. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Sep 2011

    Posts: 12,615

    Location: Surrey


    Nope. Once you run out of VRAM it will flood your system memory, which no matter how fast is still chronically slow, and then once you hit the SSD it's indefinitely game over.

    Neither of which matter though, as the hit on performance once you've overflown will be totally unplayable. Going through system memory is painful, it's not like it's directly communicating with the PCI bus either, it's got to go through DX and account for various other overheads, so once it's arrived where it needs to be it's travelling way below peak memory bandwidth anyway.

    Once you're exceeding VRAM limits, it's game over. No other way around it other than to either dial it down or get a new card for the game in question.
     
    Last edited: 25 Feb 2014
  20. robertchalmers1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Jan 2014

    Posts: 1,109

    Thing is I dont really have any experiance of pc gaming to compare games on. My son has a pc that has a gigabyte hd 7970 and that plays any game on his steam account fine by the looks of things and wouldnt be too unhappy with a couple of those myself. Other than that whatever I buy will be based on recommendations from anyone/someone on this site.