1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Joining Armoured Cable together.

Discussion in 'Home and Garden' started by psd99, Jul 11, 2017.

  1. psd99

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 7, 2008

    Posts: 3,991

    the cable has writing on it
    19069.0 2016

    trying to work out what that means.....
     
  2. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: Aug 7, 2003

    Posts: 35,302

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Is that all that's written on it? Would have expected core count, csa and max voltage as a minimum on the outer sheath.
     
  3. psd99

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 7, 2008

    Posts: 3,991

    that is all I can see

    I'm going to open the junction box on the inside of the garage and show y'all a picture of what that looks like when I get a chance. :)
     
  4. NoobCannon

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 13, 2011

    Posts: 2,407

    Will be 3 core 6mm i reckon.
     
  5. psd99

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 7, 2008

    Posts: 3,991

    I think it is 3 core too

    these are my mundane attempts at pics such a shame what they did to photoshop so using tinpic now which is as useless as some people I know!


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    is the 6mm the circumference around the wire?
     
  6. psd99

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 7, 2008

    Posts: 3,991

    photobucket I meant*

    it seems they've put the earth together with either live or neutral not sure why
    I wish I paid more attention to this when I got the wiring done in the whole house.
     
  7. Mercenary Keyboard Warrior

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 4, 2007

    Posts: 4,204

    Location: Wilds of suffolk

    Hmm well its deffo armoured

    But looks like the armour is not earthed so that pretty much negates my theory I am afraid

    6mm relates to the copper element
     
  8. psd99

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 7, 2008

    Posts: 3,991

    what was your theory again?

    I was hoping you'd look at that and see something glaringly obvious like it's not been earthed that is your problem right there. shame.

    got to be nicked slightly underground and needs repairing.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2017
  9. Mercenary Keyboard Warrior

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 4, 2007

    Posts: 4,204

    Location: Wilds of suffolk

    theory that shielding is earthed and is nicked and causing your problems, its still possible its earthed at the other end but unlikely one end would be and the other not imo

    worth just checking the other end as well I guess, you should never rule out a loose wire etc before you start digging!
     
  10. psd99

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 7, 2008

    Posts: 3,991


    so basically open the whole RCD and check whether on the RCD side the earth wire is connected in the same way?

    If it Is NOT the same, then what shall I do? (rather check first this than dig up my lovely turf)
     
  11. Mercenary Keyboard Warrior

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 4, 2007

    Posts: 4,204

    Location: Wilds of suffolk

    If at the other end the shielding is connected to earth then its your call

    If you have nicked the earth only then it could be causing the trip, disconnecting this may stop it.
    But I am certainly not saying thats the right thing to do, there seems to be some dispute amongst electricians on using the shielding as a secondary earth or not. Try googling it to see the different views.
     
  12. psd99

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 7, 2008

    Posts: 3,991

    ok thanks

    I will check the RCD first, I bet it is wired the same way.
     
  13. Syla5

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 13, 2012

    Posts: 4,305

    It wouldn't work if that was the case. If you look closely the wire that has been wrapped in earth tape (grey core), and your neutral go to different points. I thought the same as you at first glance but that is not the case.
     
  14. psd99

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 7, 2008

    Posts: 3,991

    so basically the earth wire connects to nowhere!
     
  15. samcat

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 8, 2002

    Posts: 2,107

    Location: Near Bristol, Uk

    Dont think so, looking at your pic there are bare copper tails running to the other side of the terminal that earth is screwed into. Supposed to be covered in green/yellow tape or tubing.
     
  16. Syla5

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 13, 2012

    Posts: 4,305

    No the earth connects to the earth block in the black box.
     
  17. NoobCannon

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 13, 2011

    Posts: 2,407

    Thats the nastyiest looking way to terminate an armourd cable ive ever seen!

    If you have a volt meter disconnect the cable (both ends) and check the resistance of all the cores to earth one by one. And then check them all to the armour one by one. And if you still dont find anything check between eachother

    We test with a megger at work (500/1000v) to earth but you should hopefully be able to see if someings fubar with a normal meter.

    And yes 6mm is the conductor size, will be 1.5mm armour.

    Where are you located out of interest?
     
  18. psd99

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 7, 2008

    Posts: 3,991

    cheers mate sent you a message in trust.
     
  19. NoobCannon

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 13, 2011

    Posts: 2,407

    Have replied mate
     
  20. ZG002

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jul 22, 2004

    Posts: 9,884

    Location: Up north in Sunderland

    That is a pretty poor installation tbh, I wouldn't be surprised if something wasn't a miss in the garage if that's how they terminate a SWA.
     


Share This Page