1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My new Dell 2405FPW - pictures & first impressions

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Baddass, Sep 1, 2005.

  1. Yaka

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 2,926

    Location: a dark place

    headrat how do they compare to the 2405?

    and how is the component imput with the 360?
     
  2. HEADRAT

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 19,777

    Location: Cambridge, UK

    To be honest they seem very similar (never had any problems with the 2405) I think the biggest thing I notice is they have a better viewing angle.

    Component with the 360 is fine also.

    HEADRAT
     
  3. Dashik

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 1,483

    Location: Glenrothes

    So what did you get then? 2405 or 2407? Just called Dell as I got a line appeared down the right hand side of the screen about just to the left of the - key. No problems they are shipping a replacement for tommorow.
     
  4. Dashik

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 1,483

    Location: Glenrothes

    Well I cant complain, I received a replacment refurbished 2405 a few days after I posted here.

    Then unfortunatly it too went faulty.

    Today I have had delivered a Shiney NEW 2407 FOC from Dell!!! Result!!! :D

    Dell Customer services were very helpful!
     
  5. HEADRAT

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 19,777

    Location: Cambridge, UK

    YAY! :)

    HEADRAT
     
  6. REDD555

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 1, 2005

    Posts: 737

    Location: Midlands

    What's the official verdict then? 2405 or 2407 is "best"?

    Personally I can't fault the 2405 but I am getting the high pitch whining now after it's been on for a while...Is this a fault or natural? :confused:
     
  7. ChoÞÞer

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 21, 2006

    Posts: 4,510

    Location: UK, Lincolnshire, Lincoln

    HeadRat, they are very nice screen's, they look nicer if they was on a dual stand and on the wall ;)
     
  8. Smiley Man

    Soldato

    Joined: Apr 17, 2003

    Posts: 6,518

    Location: hOme

    i have that sometimes and mines 18 monts old - still dont regret spending the £530 i took months to save on it though :D

    what are peoples ideal settings for brightness, contrast and gamma? ive ben fiddling for ages but cant get it quite right :(

    thanks :D
     
  9. REDD555

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 1, 2005

    Posts: 737

    Location: Midlands

    Hmmm. I heard people complaining about it earlier in this thread but wasn't sure if it was a fault or just a characteristic of this particular monitor.

    Anyone shed some light on this? And what happened to your guys monitors that needed sending back? Just interested that's all :D
     
  10. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 6, 2005

    Posts: 22,202

    Admittedly I am comparing my 2407 to My 2005 and until I had the 7 I really liked the 2005 and thought it was a fabulous monitor - however it hasnt been switched on in months since I got My 07 as the new one is sooooooo damned good

    At some point I have to get around to uninstalling the CATS so I can get my pci card installed and then connect my 05 to it - last time I tried attaching both to my X1900 Crossfire card , all monitor options etc went screwy
     
  11. Muttley59

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 27, 2006

    Posts: 103

    my 2405 is just a year old and still going strong :D

    would like the 3007WFP but it just hasnt got the inputs :confused:
     
  12. Alty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 23, 2004

    Posts: 1,878

    Location: East Riding of Yorkshire

    I too cannot fault my 2405, the only thing I would even think about for future purchase would be another 2405 (wont even look at a 2407) or a 30"er like the 3007 BUT only once there is a model out there that handles all the inputs. I can't believe Dell dropped the ball with the 07 models with the lack of inputs compared to the 2405s.

    **EDIT**

    I love how this thread just wont quit :p
     
  13. REDD555

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 1, 2005

    Posts: 737

    Location: Midlands

    Yep. Love mine too but just wondered about that whining noise. If everyone is agreed the 2405 is better than the 07 I'm frightened to have to send mine back incase I get the newer "inferior?" one :confused:
     
  14. Dashik

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 1,483

    Location: Glenrothes


    Well I like my new 2407, the faster screen doesnt hurt either and the stand and display look better too so thats a bonus.

    All round I like it, Definately would not swap back.
     
  15. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 19,962

    Location: UK

    yeah keeps popping up!
     
  16. nolimit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 20, 2003

    Posts: 2,446

    Location: London

    @HEADRAT

    nice setup. why do you need 2 diNovo's? surely two people can't use 1 mouse cursor at the same time! :confused:
    or is it purely for 2 player gaming e.g lego star wars?
     
  17. REDD555

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 1, 2005

    Posts: 737

    Location: Midlands

    Can't say as I've seen the 07 so I can't comment. Just know my 2405 is lovely.

    Someone clear up whether the whining is a problem or a trait please?
     
  18. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 19,962

    Location: UK

    the whining issue was a problem with some of the 2405FPW stock, caused by the power supply and normally manifesting itself after being turned on for a few hours. You may be able to return it to Dell, but depends on whether it's very obvious or not?
     
  19. REDD555

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 1, 2005

    Posts: 737

    Location: Midlands

    Yes. That's it exactly. Never noticed it before because I only use the PC for a couple of hours at a time.

    Not it's been on a while the whining is definitely noticeable. :(

    Shall I pursue it? The monitor is awesome apart from that. No dead pixels and just beautifully bright and colourful.
     
  20. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 19,962

    Location: UK

    well it depends if it bothers you enough for the hastle of changing it? If you aren't using the screen for extended periods, then simply switching it off / setting it to go to standby, might do the trick :)